Scholarships available to CSDI students


The Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders has a variety of excellent scholarship and award opportunities for students enrolled in our program. All full time undergraduate and graduate (MS, AUD, PhD) students are encouraged to look at the descriptions and apply for any that they qualify. Standard practice is that scholarship applications are due during spring semester (e.g., February), with announcements of awards being made in March in time for Financial Aid to process awards for the following academic year. A formal ceremony honoring the awardees is held during the Fall NSSLHA Symposium. Please read the following descriptions of each scholarship for qualification requirements and follow the instructions carefully.

Instructions for Applicants

All applications must be completed using an application form that is distributed to current students each January/February. Applicants must follow the guidelines on the form.  The student is responsible for completing the application, obtaining all supporting documentation (transcripts, reference letters, support letters).  Please read the application criteria for each scholarship carefully to ensure that you have the appropriate qualifications before you apply, and ensure that you obtain the appropriate documentation required for each specific award. Note: Each award requires specific documentation, some of which may not be included on the general application form!

The deadline applies to applications for of all scholarships. The deadline will be specified in the application and is typically in early February.


Tanya Johnson McDowell & Riley Floyd Scholarship

The purpose of this scholarship is to provide support to a graduate student who is pursuing a Master's degree in the clinical practice of speech-language pathology at ECU. The recipient will meet criteria for financial need, GPA, reference letters, and will demonstrate excellence in speech-language pathology during a faculty interview. The faculty interview will be scheduled and conducted following the student's application.

Meta Downes Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a graduate of the ECU Communication Sciences and Disorders undergraduate program who is enrolled in the ECU on-campus graduate (MS) program for speech-language pathology. The scholarship is awarded to a full-time student and is based on financial need, merit (academic & service), or both.

James & Carol White Speech Pathology Scholarship

A scholarship(s) is awarded to one (or more) full-time ECU graduate student(s) in Speech Pathology. Qualifications include: US Citizenship, Maryland resident, uses the SpeechEasy, and a GPA of 3.2 or greater. If there are no applicants who meet all of these criteria, the scholarship will be awarded to the student who closest meets these criteria, with the primary factor being an interest in stuttering. The recipient will demonstrate a commitment to a career in SLP with a major interest in stuttering. Dr. Joseph Kalinowski participates with the scholarship committee in determining the recipient.

Lina Edwards Wheeler Memorial Scholarship

The purpose of this scholarship is to assist deserving 2nd year graduate students pursuing a master's degree in Communication Sciences and Disorders who demonstrate leadership capacity and commitment to public service. Students must demonstrate academic merit (minimum 3.5 GPA & no grade < B in the previous year), and must submit a letter of recommendation from a member of the ECU CSDI faculty.

ECU Chapter of the National Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association Award

This award honors 1st year graduate student(s) who are members of the ECU Chapter of the National Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association (NSSLHA).  The value and number of scholarships awarded is determined by the outgoing panel of officers annually, based on funds raised by ECU NSSLHA during the previous academic year.  Award(s) are presented at the Annual Meta M. Downes Speech Language and Hearing Symposium.  Criteria is as follows: a full-time student with a minimum GPA of 3.75, in academic good standing (not on probation or been in remediation).  Applicants should submit a resume and essay on a topic provided by the NSSLHA scholarship committee.

Muzzarelli Service Award

This award honors the ECU CSDI student who has exemplified service activity to benefit the profession and the community. It is a component of the NSSLHA awards, therefore all applicants must also meet the requirements for the NSSLHA award.

Barbara Bremer Award for Recognition of Clinical Effectiveness

This award encourages ECU graduate students in CSDI to assume their clinical responsibility for making a recognizable difference in the lives of their clients through the intervention process. This award honors a student who has made a difference in the life of at least one client because of knowledge, understanding, encouragement, and enthusiasm that the student has incorporated into the therapist-client relationship.

Anyone may nominate a CSDI graduate student who has completed one semester of graduate clinical work by the award submission date. In addition to the standard scholarship application packet, the applicant for this award must write a maximum 2-page essay that includes:

  1. How s/he has made a difference in the life of a specific client;
  2. A brief summary of the clinical intervention process written by the student and signed by the student and clinical supervisor (on or off campus); plus,
  3. A supportive statement(s) from the client/family, written permission from the client/family to discuss the client's clinical information (i.e., assessment, intervention plan, and treatment), written permission to allow the student to be recognized for clinical effectiveness based on the client's treatment; and
  4. A supportive statement from the clinical supervisor and any statements of support from other interested parties.

CSDI Clinical Scholars Program

Full-time CSDI students enrolled in the M.S. Program are eligible for appointment as Division of Research and Graduate Studies (DGRS) – College of Allied Health Sciences (CAHS) Clinical Scholars. These prestigious awards provide financial support in the form of an annual stipend. Recognizing that informed clinicians are ongoing consumers of the latest research findings in their field, DGRS-CAHS Clinical Scholars gain research experience above and beyond the typical MS degree and NC/ASHA licensure requirements. In addition to completing coursework and clinical requirements, Clinical Scholars work year-round on research projects mentored by CSDI faculty. The expected outcome of this research experience is one first-author publication in a peer-reviewed journal and a Master's Thesis. Scholars are selected based on high academic achievement (top ⅓ of entering class) and promise in scholarship and research. The DRGS-CAHS Clinical Scholar Awards are provided annually and can be renewed for a second year based on academic progress. Recipients are not permitted to hold other jobs within or outside of the university. The Division of Research and Graduate Studies under the leadership the Dean of the Graduate School, the Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Studies, and the Dean of the College of Allied Health Sciences fund the Clinical Scholars program.


•  Alumni
•  Bachelor's Degree
•  Minor
•  Master's Degrees
•  Distance Education
•  Doctoral Degrees
•  Clinics
•  Faculty and Staff
•  Student Resources
•  News
•  ECU Chapter of NSSLHA
•  Program Outcomes
•  Department Mission

Department of Communication 
  Sciences and Disorders
3310 Health Sciences Building
Mail Stop 668


Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon