ECU Logo
The Brody School of Medicine and Vidant Medical Center
Graduate Medical Education

Your Medical Career Takes Off Here

Prospective Residents & Fellows
Incoming Residents & Fellows
Current Residents & Fellows
GME Leadership
GME Resident Council
Quick Links
Contact Us

To be eligible for our medical and surgical residency programs, candidates must meet the following criteria:

  • A graduate of a medical school in the United States or Canada accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME),
  • A graduate of a college of osteopathic medicine in the United States accredited by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), or
  • A graduate of a medical school outside the United States and Canada who meets one of the following qualifications
    • Holds a currently valid certificate from the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates
    • Has completed a Fifth Pathway program provided by an LCME accredited medical school.
All applicants must be in one of the following categories:
  • A US citizen
  • A lawful permanent resident
  • Have a pending permanent resident status with valid Employment Authorization Card
  • Have political asylum with valid Employment Authorization Card
  • Refugee with valid employment Authorization Card
  • Qualify for a J-1 Visa (we do not sponsor H-1 Visas)
International Schools
Applicants from international schools should contact the ECFMG for further information
    Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates
    3624 Market Street
    PO Box 41673
    Philadelphia, PA 19101-1673
    phone: 215-386-5900
    fax: 215-387-9963
Applicants must be eligible for a Residency Training License granted by the North Carolina Board of Medical Examiners, or a Dental Permit granted by the North Carolina Board of Dentistry of applying for a position as a Dental Resident.

How to Apply
Many of our programs accept applications only through the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS). You may obtain forms and additional information about the ERAS process from your medical school dean's office or through the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

Applications for the following programs are accepted only through ERAS via electronic transmission. No other applications will be accepted.  Interviews will be scheduled by the programs and are by appointment only.

  • Cardiology Fellowship
  • Dermatology
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine
  • Family Medicine
  • Hermatology/Oncology Fellowship
  • Infectious Disease Fellowship
  • Internal Medicine -- Categorical
  • Internal Medicine -- Preliminary
  • Internal Medicine/Pediatrics
  • Internal Medicine/Psychiatry
  • Interventional Cardiology Fellowship
  • Nephrology Fellowship
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Pathology
  • Pediatrics
  • Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
  • Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation -- Advanced
  • Psychiatry
  • Pulmonary/Critical Care Fellowship
  • Surgery -- Categorical
  • Surgery -- Preliminary
Inclusion Materials
Applications submitted through ERAS must include the following materials:
  • Application form
  • Personal statement (be sure to address your reasons for choosing your specialty, time gaps in educational programs, specific experiences you believe strengthen your application, research, publications, interests, etc.)
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Recent photograph (preferred, but not required)
  • Dean's letter
  • Three letters of recommendation
  • Official transcript from your medical school
  • USMLE or COMLEX scores
  • ECFMG certificate if you are an international Graduate Medical Education
The following programs do not participate with ERAS. Please contact the program or check individual websites for specific application information.

Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship
Nadyah John, MD, Program Director
or Carolyn Mosley, Program Coordinator
Brody School of Medicine, Suite 4E-94
Greenville, NC 27834
252.744.2673 or
Dental General Practice Residency
Alicia Harris, Program Coordinator
Brody School of Medicine at ECU
Diabetes Fellowship (non-ACGME)
1 year program for primary care physicians
Robert Tanenberg, MD, Program Director
600 Moye Blvd. Division of Endocrinology, Brody 3E-129
Geriatrics Fellowship
Tae Lee, MD, Program Director
4N-72 Brody Medical Sciences Building
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC 27834
Sports Medicine Fellowship

Gastroenterology Fellowship

Infectious Disease Fellowship

Cytopathology Fellowship

Neonatology Fellowship

Surgical Critical Care Fellowship

Women's Health Fellowship (non-ACGME)
Sarah Phillipy, Program Coordinator or Emily Bray, MD
Department of Family Medicine
The Brody School of Medicine
Greenville, NC 27834
252.744.5517 or