Faculty & Staff


Charles Phillips

Charles M. Phillips, MD

Division Chief & Professor of Medicine

252-744-3109 (appointments)
252-744-2096 (fax)

Clinical Interests: Laser Surgery of Vascular Lesions, Telemedicine and General Dermatology
Board Certifications: Dermatology, Internal Medicine
Residency: University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL [Dermatology]
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC [Internal Medicine]
Medical School: University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, San Antonio, TX

William Burke

William A. Burke, MD

Residency Program Director & Professor of Medicine

252-744-3109 (appointments)
252-744-2096 (fax)

Clinical Interests: Pulsed Dye Laser; Telemedicine; Coastal and Aquatic Dermatology; Phototherapy
Board Certifications: Dermatology
Residency: University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC
Medical School: The Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University

Jennifer M. Defazio, MD

Jennifer M. Defazio, MD

Assistant Professor of Medicine, Director of Cutaneous Surgery and Oncology

252-744-3109 (appointments)
252-744-2096 (fax)

Clinical Interests: Mohs Surgery; General Dermatology Board Certifications: Mohs Surgery, Dermatology
Fellowships: Dermatologic Surgery Specialists, Macon, GA [Mohs Surgery]
Residency: West Virginia University, Morganton, WV
Medical School: West Virginia University, Morganton, WV

Karyn Preshaw

Karyn D. Preshaw, MD

Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine/Dermatology
Clinical Assistant Professor- Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Clinical Interests: Dermatopathology, Cytopathology
Fellowship: Dermatopathology, Cytopathology, University of Virginia
Residency: University of Tennessee Medical Center, Knoxville [Anatomic/Clinical Pathology]
Medical School: Wayne State School of Medicine, Detroit, MI

Affiliate Faculty

John Papalas

John Papalas, MD

Instructor - Dermatopathology

Clinical Interests: Dermatopathology
Fellowship: Dermatopathology, Duke University
Residency: Duke University [Anatomic/Clinical Pathology]
Medical School: The Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University

Other Clinical Providers

Erin McGillicuddy

Erin McGillicuddy Hurd, FNP

Hometown: Greenville, NC
Undergraduate: Wake Forest University, East Carolina University
Medical School: University of North Carolina

Nursing Staff

  • Lisa Jones - Head Nurse
  • Betty West - Mohs Nurse
  • Jasmine Willis
  • Chelsea Greene

Patient Representatives

  • Jill Harris
  • Jamie Nichols
  • Griselda Quiroz

Administrative Support

  • La'Quanda James