MENU

Curriculum Committees

Executive Curriculum Committee

The medical school curriculum is governed by a faculty committee system. Each of the four curricular years has a corresponding "year curriculum committee" that works collaboratively to examine educational issues in detail. The year committees include faculty, student and administrative representatives. Year committees meet monthly and make recommendations to the school-wide Executive Curriculum Committee.

The Executive Curriculum Committee is charged with the "integrated institutional responsibility for the overall design, management and evaluation of a coherent and coordinated curriculum" (LCME Standard ED-33). Consequently, the ECC reviews all recommendations that come from the year-specific committees and/or student representatives and forwards them to the Dean, along with its recommendations and assessment of how the changes might impact the total curriculum. The Executive Curriculum Committee also engages in a systematic review of the entire curriculum on an ongoing basis and formally reports to the Dean and faculty regarding its activities.

The Executive Curriculum Committee is responsible for the following specific tasks:

  • Overall management, monitoring and coordination of the total educational program to ensure congruence with overall SOM educational objectives
  • Review and oversight of the content of the curriculum, including consideration of any proposed modifications
  • Review and oversight of the teaching methods used in the curriculum
  • Review and oversight of the methods used for student evaluation and grading
  • Approving the academic calendar for each year
  • Communicating to faculty and students through curriculum committee representatives
  • Reviewing measures of student and course performance and evaluating the components of the year-specific curriculum
  • Applying principles of evaluating program effectiveness by outcomes analysis, with emphasis on continuous quality improvement of the entire curriculum

Our system of shared governance reflects our tripartite mission. The strong primary care mission of the medical school is very visible during curriculum committee meetings and planning sessions. We recognize that curriculum governance is a dynamic process involving "ongoing review of the educational program" and a "focus....on implementing a quality improvement-based approach to curriculum management" (Academic Medicine 2000; 75 (9 Supp): S268-70). Our ultimate goal is to ensure continued excellence in all aspects of medical student education at Brody School of Medicine.

ECC Members

Leigh Patterson, MD, Chair Emergency Medicine pattersonl@ecu.edu
Rob Carroll, Phd Associate Dean for Medical Education carrollr@ecu.edu
Richard Ray, PhD Physiology, Chair of M1 Curriculum Comm (M1 CC Chair) rayri@ecu.edu
James Coleman, PhD Microbiology & Immunology, Chair of M2 Curriculum Comm (M2 CC Chair) colemanj@ecu.edu
David Eldridge, MD Pediatrics, Chair of Clinical Curriculum Comm (CCC Chair) eldridged@ecu.edu
Jitka Virag, PhD Physiology, Basic Science faculty at large viragj@ecu.edu
Susan Keen, MD Family Medicine, Clinical faculty at large keens@ecu.edu
Lisa Domico, PhD
Pharmacology, Basic Science Faculty at large domicol@ecu.edu
Mary Catherine Turner, MD
Pediatrics, Clinical faculty at large, Program Director brakem@ecu.edu
Anthony Mayen (M4 Curriculum Rep) mayena14@students.ecu.edu
Jamie Hunter (MSC Vice Chair) hunterj15@students.ecu.edu

M1 Curriculum Committee

Richard Ray, PhD Neuroscience rayri@ecu.edu
Kelly Harrell, PhD Anatomy and Cell Biology harrellk14@ecu.edu
Ann Sperry, PhD Histology sperrya@ecu.edu
Cassandra Bradby, MD Foundations of Medicine I bradbyc14@ecu.edu
Brian Shewchuk, PhD Biochemistry shewchukb@ecu.edu
Robert Lust, PhD Physiology lustr@ecu.edu
Justin Edwards, MD Doctoring I/ Family Medicine edwardsj@ecu.edu
Jim Coleman, PhD Microbiology and Immunology colemanj@ecu.edu
Irma Corral, PhD, MPH Psychiatry corrali@ecu.edu
Hellen Ransom, PhD Bioethics & Interdisciplinary Studies ransomh@ecu.edu

M2 Curriculum Committee

James Coleman, PhD Microbiology Immunology colemanj@ecu.edu
Brandon Kyle, PhD Psychiatric Medicine kyleb@ecu.edu
Darla Liles, MD Internal Medicine lilesd@ecu.edu
Justin Edwards, MD Doctoring II/ Family Medicine edwardsj@ecu.edu
LaToya Griffin, PhD Pharmacology & Toxicology griffinla@ecu.edu
Philip Boyer, MD Pathology & Laboratory Medicine boyerp14@ecu.edu
Daniel Goldberg, PhD Bioethics & Interdisciplinary Studies goldbergd@ecu.edu
John Wiley, PhD Genetics wileyj@ecu.edu
Lane Wilson, MD Foundations of Medicine II wilsonjo@ecu.edu

Clinical Curriculum Committee

M4 Elective Course Information Form


David Eldridge, MD
Corral Steffey, MD
Pediatrics-M3 eldridged@ecu.edu
steffeyco@ecu.edu
MJ Barchman, MD Internal Medicine-M3 barchmanm@ecu.edu
PG Shelton, MD Psychiatric Medicine-M3 sheltonp@ecu.edu
Susan Keen, MD Family Medicine-M3 keens@ecu.edu
Carl Haisch, MD
Jan Wong, MD
Surgery-M3 haischc@ecu.edu
wongj@ecu.edu
Jill Sutton, MD Obstetrics and Gynecology-M3 suttonji@ecu.edu
Rich Garri, MD Emergency Medicine-M4 garrir@ecu.edu
John Norbury, MD PM&R-M4 norburyj@ecu.edu
Kimberly Rathbun Radiology rathbunk14@ecu.edu
Richard Ray, PhD M1 Course Director Neuroscience rayri@ecu.edu ANAT 7215M
Kelly Harrell, PhD M1 Course Director Anatomy and Cell Biology harrellk14@ecu.edu ANAT 7200M
Ann Sperry, PhD M1 Course Director Histology sperrya@ecu.edu ANAT 7210M
Cassandra Bradby, MD/LL M1 Course Director Foundations of Medicine I bradbyc14@ecu.edu EDMD 9115
Brian Shewchuk, PhD M1 Course Director Biochemistry shewchukb@ecu.edu BIOC 7300M
Robert Lust, PhD M1 Course Director Physiology lustr@ecu.edu PHYL 6700M
Justin Edwards, MD M1 Course Director Doctoring I/ Family Medicine edwardsj@ecu.edu DOCT 9101
Jim Coleman, PhD M1 Course Director Microbiology and Immunology colemanj@ecu.edu MCBI 7400M
Irma Corral, PhD, MPH M1 Course Director Psychiatry corrali@ecu.edu PSCH 9101
Hellen Ransom, PhD M1 Course Director Ethical & Social Issues ransomh@ecu.edu ETHC 9101
James Coleman, PhD M2 Course Director Microbiology & Immunology colemanj@ecu.edu MCBI 7401M
Brandon Kyle, PhD M2 Course Director Psychiatric Medicine kyleb@ecu.edu PSCH 9201
Darla Liles, MD/H.Adams M2 Course Director Internal Medicine lilesd@ecu.edu INMD 9101
Justin Edwards, MD M2 Course Director Doctoring II/ Family Medicine edwardsj@ecu.edu DOCT 9201
LaToya Griffin, PhD M2 Course Director Pharmacology & Toxicology griffinla@ecu.edu PHAR 9201
Philip Boyer, MD M2 Course Director Pathology & Laboratory Medicine boyerp14@ecu.edu PATH 9201
Daniel Goldberg, PhD M2 Course Director Ethical & Social Issues II goldbergd@ecu.edu ETHC 9201
John Wiley, PhD M2 Course Director Genetics wileyj@ecu.edu GENE 9201
Lane Wilson, MD/LL M2 Course Director Foundations of Medicine II wilsonjo@ecu.edu EDMD 9215
David Eldridge, MD
Corral Steffey, MD
M3 Clerkship Director Pediatrics eldridged@ecu.edu
steffeyco@ecu.edu
PEDS 9304
MJ Barchman, MD M3 Clerkship Director Internal Medicine barchmanm@ecu.edu INMD 9302
PG Shelton, MD M3 Clerkship Director Psychiatric Medicine sheltonp@ecu.edu PSCH 9305
Susan Keen, MD M3 Clerkship Director Family Medicine keens@ecu.edu FMLY 9301
Carl Haisch, MD
Jan Wong, MD
M3 Clerkship Director Surgery haischc@ecu.edu
wongj@ecu.edu
SURG 9306
Jill Sutton, MD M3 Clerkship Director Obstetrics and Gynecology suttonji@ecu.edu OBGY 9303
Rich Garri, MD M4 Clerkship Director Emergency Medicine garrir@ecu.edu EMRG 9406
John Norbury, MD M4 Clerkship Director PM&R norburyj@ecu.edu REHB 9408
Kimberly Rathbun, MD
Radiology rathbunk14@ecu.edu RADI 9325
Use the link below to access the Executive Curriculum Committee SharePoint site.
You must have permission to enter this site.

You must use your ECU pirateID and ECU password to log into the ECC site.
If you are logging in from a computer located outside of the ECU network, enter “intra\” in front of your user name (ex. intra\mooreca)

https://collab.ecu.edu/sites/ecc/default.aspx