ECU Logo
Eastern Carolina Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience



9th Annual Neuroscience Symposium

On Thursday, November 29th, 2007 the Eastern Carolina Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience held the 9th Annual Neuroscience Symposium, "Catalyst for Collaboration at East Carolina: Today and Tomorrow" at the Willis Bldg., East Carolina University. The symposium was a result of concerted efforts of ECU neuroscientists to highlight research activities conducted within the East Carolina University, to enhance the national visibility of the ECU neuroscience chapter, and to promote collaboration within the University and with leading neuroscientists in the US. The symposium had 84 participants, out of which 25 were neuroscience faculty, and 49 were undergraduate and graduate students representing different departments and schools across the ECU campus. The participants were greeted by Dr. Phyllis N. Horns, Interim Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences and Interim Dean of the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University. Dr. Horns expressed her support of the ECU neuroscience community. The symposium consisted of two oral sessions (4 guest speakers, and 5 speakers from ECU) and one poster session (21 posters), and the Product Show arranged by Biotech Vendor Services Inc.

  • Final Program (click here) and Flyer (click here)
  • Invited Speakers
    • Keynote address: Alex L. Kolodkin, Ph.D., Howard Hughes Investigator, Professor at The Solomon H. Snyder Department of Neuroscience, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD.
      Title: Molecular Mechanisms of Neuronal Growth Cone Guidance
    • Guest speakers:
      • William Snider M.D., Director of UNC Neuroscience Center, Chapel Hill, NC.
      • Patricia F. Maness, Ph.D., Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics, UNC, Chapel Hill, NC.
      • Michael P. Vitek, Ph.D., President of Cognosci, Inc., Research Triangle Park, NC.
      • Rosemarie Booze, Ph.D, Professor and Bicentennial Endowed Chair of Behavioral Neuroscience, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC.
  • Location
    Willis Building
    East Carolina University
    Greenville, NC
  • Award Ceremony
    Three graduate students were presented with award certificates for the best poster presentation:
    • First place ($100 award) – Teresa Lever (Communication Sciences and Disorders)
    • Second place ($75 award) – Sonja Bareiss (Anatomy and Cell Biology)
    • Third place ($50) - Sarath Vijayakumar (Physiology)

The Neuroscience Symposium showed that there is a lot of crosstalk between neuroscientists across the campus, and that the time for developing collaborations is right. The success of the symposium testifies to the growing interest and momentum in the neuroscience community. We would like to thank all participants and extend our congratulations on a very successful day with the hope that we can build on this success.

- ECCSFN Council