College of Nursing

Featured Article 

ECU faculty members receive recognition

January 16, 2008

Faculty members in the East Carolina University College of Nursing recently received national recognition.

Janet P. Moye, assistant professor in the East Carolina University College of Nursing, has been selected a Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse Fellow. The three-year fellowship continues through 2010.

Moye is one of only 20 fellows chosen from across the country this year for the advanced leadership program, developed for experienced nurses in executive roles who aspire to lead and shape the United States health care system of the future.

The fellowship includes a mentor experience providing exposure to a top-level executive outside the health care industry. Each fellow develops an individual plan to be used as a guide for self-directed learning activities and a leadership project developed jointly with the fellow's employer.

Maura S. McAuliffe, professor and director of nurse anesthesia in the College of Nursing, was one of 13 members of the National Quality Forum Safe Practices Maintenance Committee to receive the prestigious Pete Conrad Patient Safety Excellence Award.

The award is given to individuals and organizations involved in the pursuit of patient safety. The National Quality Forum is a voluntary standards-setting organization as defined by the National Technology Transfer and Advancement Act of 1995, achieving consensus on standards for improving the quality and safety of health care.

Astronaut Pete Conrad was a victim of medical error. His widow, Nancy Conrad, presented the award to McAuliffe on Sept. 28 in Washington, D.C.