College of Nursing

Featured Article 

ECU Nursing Receives NSNA Award

March 24, 2010

The East Carolina Association of Nursing Students (ECANS) is being honored for recruiting the most members to join its national association in 2009-2010.

The National Student Nurses Association (NSNA) awarded ECANS the Project In Touch grand prize for recruiting 191 new members. ECANS is a constituent member of the North Carolina Association of Nursing Students and the NSNA. Membership is open to any pre-nursing or nursing student.

ECANS president Elizabeth Newcombe and membership coordinator Hilary Mendel will accept the award at the 2010 NSNA 58th annual convention April 7-11 in Orlando, Fla. As part of the prize, they received one all-expense paid trip to the convention. Mendel will present on membership recruitment during a seminar and question and answer session.

ECANS advisors are Kathleen Simpson, clinical associate professor of nursing, and Krista Horne, clinical assistant professor of nursing.

"The excitement and energy displayed by ECANS is contagious, and we are all very impressed by their work with this student group," said Dr. Sylvia Brown, dean of the ECU College of Nursing.