College of Nursing

Featured Article 

Accolades and Accomplishments Spring 2017

May 25, 2017

A roundup of the latest awards, accomplishments and accolades earned by our faculty, staff, students and alumni. If you have something noteworthy to share, let us know at so we can celebrate with you!

  • Recent DNP graduates Marina Turner and Beth Ann Guevara, as well as current DNP students Anastasia Solodyankin, Adrianna Musallam and Komal Eubanks each were awarded $1,000 scholarships from the CVS Foundation.
  • Professor Emeritus Dr. Martha Raile Alligood will release her new nursing theory textbook, "Nursing Theorists and Their Work" on Aug. 1.
  • Alumnae Hannah Eadie and Madison O'Boyle were named Rookie of the Year for their units at UNC REX Healthcare. The award was voted on by managers and staff of each unit.
  • Undergraduate students Allie Kmiecik, Emmalyn Hicks, Eboni Wiley and Jessica Green each were awarded $750 scholarships from the Pitt Golden K Kiwanis Club.
  • May 2017 graduate Jessica Landino had her manuscript, "Neonatal Rhizomelic Chondrodysplasia Punctata Type1: Weaving Evidence into Clinical Practice" accepted for publication by the Journal of Pediatric and Neonatal Nursing.
  • Professor Dr. Kathleen Sitzman's book, "Caring Science, Mindful Practice" was released in Chinese.
  • Alumna Joan Wynn, the chief quality and patient safety officer at Vidant Health, was named Quality Professional of the Year by the North Carolina Association for Healthcare Quality.
  • Faculty members Dr. Ann Schreier, Dr. Joy Shepard and Dr. Donna Lake were honored at the ECU Teaching Awards. Shreier received the Distinguished Faculty Mentor Award, given to recognize success in mentoring graduate students in their intellectual growth, helping them develop research interests and fostering development of their communication, interpersonal, research and professional skills. Shepard received the UNC Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award, which honors exceptional teaching ability. Lake received the Scholar-Teacher Award, which is given to instructors who demonstrate excellence in the classroom and have an outstanding record of scholarly accomplishments.
  • Doctoral student Tamara Purdue was one of the presentation winners at ECU's 2017 Research and Creative Achievement Week.
  • Professor Dr. Susan Kennerly presented on reducing facility-acquired pressure ulcers by optimizing patient turning at the 2017 Spring Symposium on Advanced Wound Care.
  • BSN to DNP students Melissa Peeler, Rebecca Smith and Sarah Tabscott were awarded first place in the ECU REACH Initiative Student Challenge competition for "Meet PETE: A REACH Innovation Proposal."
  • Faculty members Dr. Janice Neil, Dr. Donna Roberson, and Dr. Mary Ann Rose received the top poster presentation award at the Association of Perioperative Registered Nurses Convention for their study, "The Tipping Point: A Qualitative Exploration of Decision Making for Bariatric Surgery."
  • Faculty members Dr. Pam Reis and Dr. Rebecca Bagley were inducted as Fellows of the American College of Nurse Midwives in May 2017. This is an honor bestowed upon those midwives whose demonstrated leadership, clinical excellence, outstanding scholarship, and professional achievement. Dr. Pam Reis is also co-chairing the American College of Nurse-Midwives Program Committee.
  • Faculty members Dr. Sonya Hardin and Dr. Donna Lake were selected for induction as Fellows in the American Academy of Nursing.
  • Faculty members Dr. Barbara Kellam and Cheryl Elhammoumi have had their article, "Art Images in Holistic Nursing Education" accepted for publication.
  • MSN student Chelsea Passwater won the student poster contest at the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists conference.