College of Nursing

Featured Article 

Engelke at AAN ceremony

Dr. Phyllis Hornes (left), Dr. Marti Engelke (center), and Dr. Maura McAuliffe (right) at the AAN induction ceremony in Washington, D.C. in October, 2013. Hornes and McAuliffe are both previously inducted AAN Fellows.

Engelke selected as fellow of the American Academy of Nursing (FAAN)

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Dr. Martha “Marti” Engelke, professor and associate dean for research and creative activity in the College of Nursing at East Carolina University, will be inducted as a fellow in the American Academy of Nursing in October.

The academy announced June 27 that Engelke will be one of 172 nurse leaders inducted at the AAN’s 40th annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

"Selection for fellowship in the academy is one of the most prestigious honors in the field of nursing,” said Joanne Disch, president of the AAN. “I congratulate all of the new fellows and look forward to honoring their accomplishments and welcoming them into the academy.”

Selection criteria include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care and sponsorship by two current fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel of elected and appointed fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee’s nursing career influenced health policies and the health and wellbeing of all.

Engelke’s research interests include school nursing and school-based case management of children with chronic illness, and clinical research focused on patient outcomes.

“This is a well-deserved honor acknowledging Dr. Engelke’s outstanding contributions and achievements in nursing,” said Dr. Sylvia Brown, dean of the ECU College of Nursing. “We are so pleased to have this honor bestowed upon Dr. Engelke and appreciate her many contributions to the college and our profession.”

Engelke received a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Michigan State University, a master’s degree in public health nursing from the University of Michigan, and a doctorate in sociology from N.C. State University. She serves as the Richard R. Eakin Distinguished Professor of Nursing and received the Sigma Theta Tau, Beta Nu Chapter Excellence in Research Award and the Outstanding Research Award by the National Association of School Nurses. In 2012, she received the ECU Teacher/Scholar Award.

Engelke has secured more than $1.2 million in funding, has published more than 40 articles, written four book chapters and made numerous national and international presentations, and has chaired several doctoral dissertations, student research projects and served on dozens of master’s theses committees and research projects at ECU.

New fellows will be eligible to use the credentials FAAN (Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing) after their induction in October.

The academy is composed of more than 2,000 nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research. Fellows include hospital and government administrators, college deans, and renowned scientific researchers. With the new class, all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and 19 countries are represented.