College of Nursing

Featured Article 

College of Nursing awards 75 student scholarships

September 21, 2017

The College of Nursing celebrated 75 students receiving scholarships totaling more than $330,000 at a ceremony on Friday, Sept. 15 at the college.

During the ceremony Dr. Sylvia Brown, Dean of the College of Nursing, thanked donors for helping to enable students to pursue their dreams of becoming nurses or to continue their education in the field.

Student scholarship recipients
Student scholarship recipients were recognized during a ceremony at the College of Nursing on Friday, Sept. 15.

“Your continued generosity allows our students to focus on meeting their educational goals and worry less about financial constraints,” Brown said.  “Please know that your gifts make a huge difference in our students’ ability to study and meet the demands of the nursing curriculum.”

Recipients of scholarships this year include first-generation college students, parents, professionals entering their second careers and students who have overcome personal challenges and illnesses.

2017 Scholarship Recipients

  • The Alice Etheridge Liles Scholarship — Travis Todhunter
  • The American Legion Post #39 Scholarship — Johnay Williams
  • The Annie Dixon Wilson Scholarship — Kaylan Galloway
  • The Berbecker Foundation Fellowship in Health Sciences — Charles Woodard
  • The Betty Berryhill Nurse Midwifery Scholarship — Tiffany Fowler, Darci Walker, Carly Waller, Erica Welch
  • The Blaise Michael Youngs Scholarship — Kelsey Smith
  • The Carol Fleming Irons Nursing Honors Program Scholarship —Abigail Squires
  • The Carol S. Ferreira Memorial Scholarship —James Taggart
  • The Catherine & Max Ray Joyner Scholarship — Alexandria Cheshire, Autumn Clark, Haley Manning
  • The College of Nursing Hall of Fame Scholarship — Shana-Ann Caballes, David Foraker, Aaron Jamison, Kacie Tracey, Alison Waldecker
  • The Demaree-McGinnis Scholarship — Erin McVey
  • The Diana Snodgrass Olive Memorial Scholarship — Morgan Klein
  • The Doris Taylor Ahlsen Scholarship — Pamela Betz, Kennedy Bingham, Jamie Farrell , Jennifer May, Theona Smith
  • The Dorothy Marshall Cummings Honors Nursing Scholarship — Kelsey Sloan
  • The E. G. Barlow Scholarship — Bradley Farrell, Amanda Werneke
  • The ECU Medical & Health Sciences Foundation Board of Directors Scholarship — Jordan Lawson
  • The ECU Medical & Health Sciences Foundation, Inc. Scholarship — Rachael Sappington
  • The Ethel Smith Hicks Nursing Scholarship — Brynn Starr
  • The Eunice Mann Garner Memorial Scholarship —Scott Axtell, Matthew Bauer, Emily Coates, Sarah Gill, Brittany Hubbard, Danielle Joyner, Mattie Parrott, Zachary Spivey, Kevin Stewart Jeffrey Wolgemuth, Charles Woodard
  • The Eva Woosley Warren Memorial Scholarship —Rosmir Villaluz
  • The Evelyn. “Timmie” DeSimone Memorial Scholarship — Sarah Gill, Erica Welch
  • The Frances Overton Wysocki Memorial Scholarship — Travis Chabo
  • The Gertrude E. Skelly Charitable Foundation Scholarship — Ruby Avelar, Tori Harris, Aliz’e Harry, Theona Smith, James Taggart, Brittany Tolar, Amanda Trudell
  • The Grace Edwards Wellons & Eula Sawrey Edwards Nursing Scholarship — Joy Akuche
  • The Hal & Eldean Pierce Beta Nu Scholarship — Jessica Handy
  • The Harold H. Bate RIBN Recruitment Scholarship — Brittany Wiggins
  • The Heather Ann Purtee Memorial Scholarship — Emily Coats, Mattie Parrott, Alyssa Pisarski, Zachary Spivey, Krista Whitley
  • The Hospice of Tarheel Scholarship/Fellowship— Mary Katherine Cheesman
  • The James & Selba Harris Honors Nursing Scholarship — Rosa Roberson
  • The JA’s Uniform Shop Scholarship — Ruby Avelar, Tomas Williams
  • The Jennifer Horns James Memorial Scholarship — Mattie Parrott
  • The John & Lula Evans Scholarship — Hope Albritton
  • The Kimberly Basnight Memorial Scholarship — Ngozi Wedderburn
  • The Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation Scholarship — Lauren Adams, Hope Albritton, Elizabeth Boyd, Nicole Brown, Kelly Bullock, Lisa Clevenger, Tammy Cozad, Detra Edwards, Marissa Ellinger, Kellie Faison, Stacia Friend, Kaylan Galloway, Jessica Green, Sharon Hales, Kelsey Kornegay, Christina Nino, Karen Parks, Casey Powell, Amber Sandeford, Kelsey Smith, Brynn Starr, Kalisa Struder, Amanda Trudell, Skye Underwood, Charlotte VanNortwick, Autumn Varner, Elizabeth Ward, April Womack
  • The Linda Pynn Nurse Practitioner Scholarship — Meagan McLean, Virginia Mooney, Michelle Petty
  • The Lori Rowley Perseverance Scholarship — Stacia Friend
  • The Louise Metts Lloyd Scholarship — Mackenzie Weis
  • The Mabel Cooper Hayden Memorial Fund — Deja McKnight, Tin Tran
  • The Marguerite K. and Van Calvin Fleming Scholarship — Ngozi Wedderburn
  • The Martha Whitehurst Tarkington Scholarship — Thomas Radley
  • The Norma Miller Daffin Nursing Scholarship — Regina Lanier
  • The Nursing Alumni Association Scholarship — Misty Alford, Elaine Henry, Bobbie Jordan Thomas
  • The Nursing General Scholarship — Danielle Gibb, Sarah Gill, Bobbie Jordan Thomas, Krista Whitley
  • The Patricia Ann Yow Memorial Scholarship — Laura Schoen
  • The Patricia Womble Scholarship — Amanda Trapp
  • The Perry-Oyler Scholarship — Cindy Lowther, Alyssa Pisarski
  • The Pitt County Memorial Hospital Volunteer Auxiliary Nursing Scholarship — Erinn Rusak
  • The Rachel Klitzman Memorial Scholarship — Mattie Parrott
  • The Ray & Robin Webb Corbett Nursing Scholarship — Jamie Rouse
  • The Robert L. Jones Nursing Scholarship — Moriah Davis, Jessica Hudson
  • The Roccapriore-Tschetter Fellowship — Tabitha Dixon
  • The Sherry Hawkins RN-BSN Scholarship — DaQuana Dudley
  • The Tammy Duval Nurse Anesthesia Scholarship — Pamela Betz
  • The Taylor Foundation Scholarship — Jennifer Bielat
  • The Thomas Allen Bennett Memorial Scholarship — Danielle Gibbs
  • The University Book Exchange Scholarship in Nursing — Hanna Greene
  • The Vickie C. & Steven E. Whitehurst Scholarship — Morgan Davis