College of Nursing

Featured Article 

Accolades and Accomplishments Fall 2017

October 5, 2017

A roundup of the latest awards, accomplishments and accolades earned by our faculty, staff, students and alumni. If you have something noteworthy to share, let us know at so we can celebrate with you!

  • Associate Professor and Executive Director of Program Evaluation Dr. Donna Roberson recently was elected to the board of directors for the Association of Nurses in AIDS Care (ANAC), an international organization with more than 2,200 members from 60 countries.
  • Clinical Associate Professor Dr. Debra Kosko was invited to serve on the editorial board for the ANAC’s publication, the Journal of the Association of Nurses in AIDS Care. Kosko also presented her scholarly work on the impact of study abroad programs to the Sigma Theta Tau International Congress in Ireland over the summer.
  • Beta Nu Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing was selected as a 2017 recipient of the Chapter Key Award. The chapter will accept the award as a 13-time recipient at the chapter awards recognition event on Oct. 30.
  • Director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program Dr. Michelle Skipper was selected to receive the NC Governor’s Award for Excellence in the category of Safety and Heroism for her work during Hurricane Matthew in 2016. She will be recognized during a ceremony at the NC Museum of History in Raleigh on Nov. 7.
  • Professor and Director of Student Transitions Dr. Frances Eason will be honored for her impact on students’ career readiness at the ECU Faculty Impact Symposium on Oct. 25.
  • Professor Dr. Susan Kennerly is part of a research team conducting a five-year study on optimal timing for turning or repositioning patients to reduce the risk of pressure ulcers. Follow the link for more information on the project.
  • Clinical Associate Professor Dr. Melissa Beck co-chaired the Digital Library and Digital Education Forum and presented her article “Storytelling in the digital world: Achieving higher-level learning objectives” at China’s inaugural World Education Day, held in Dalian, China Sept. 27-29.
  • Assistant Professor Dr. Linda Bolin’s work on the Effect of Intensive Blood-Pressure Treatment on Patient Reported Outcomes was recently published in the New England Journal of Medicine.
  • Founding Program Director of Nurse Anesthesia Dr. Maura McAuliffe presented “Watchful Care: The History of Nurse Anesthesia” at the 2017 History of Health Sciences Presentations at Laupus Library on Sept. 25.
  • Dr. Shannon Matthews, an alumna who received her MSN from ECU, was named Director of the Nursing Program at Methodist University.
  • Alumna Jenna Meredith, with co-author faculty members Dr. Amy Jnah and Dr. Desi Newberry, was named a recipient of the 2017 Manuscript of Exceptional Merit from the Academy of Neonatal Nursing for her paper “The NICU Environment: Infusing Single-Family Room Benefits into the Open-Bay Setting.”
  • MSN alumna Tabitha Stutts Kinlaw, formerly Stewart, was recently elected to serve on the Competency and Credentialing Institute Board of Directors.
  • ECU Nursing was awarded $51,000 by Eastern Area Health Education Center (AHEC) for the Education Mobility Grant, which provides continued support to our RN/BSN students in Lenoir, Beaufort and Edgecombe counties. It was one of two proposals Eastern Area AHEC approved for 2017-2018.