College of Nursing

Featured Article 

Scott inducted as fellow in National Academies of Practice

May 21, 2015

Dr. Elaine Scott, associate professor and director of the East Carolina University Ph.D. program in nursing, has been inducted as a Distinguished Scholar and Fellow in the Nursing Academy of the National Academies of Practice. She was inducted at a gala on April 18, in Alexandria, VA.
Scott elected fellow
At the gala, from left: Dr. Evelyn Clingerman, vice chair of the
National Academy of Practice in Nursing; Dr. Joanne Singleton,
chair of the National Academy of Practice in Nursing; Scott; and
Dr. Satya Verma, president of the National Academies of Practice.

Scott was elected for fellowship based on her significant and enduring educational and research contributions to practice. Her research interests center around the concepts of leadership development and theory, transitions in practice, and patient outcomes, as well as organizational and interprofessional behavior. Most of her scholarship has focused on advancing clinical leadership capacity, new graduate transition and managing change.

Scott, a faculty member of the ECU College of Nursing since 2005, also is the founding director of the ECU-based East Carolina Center for Nursing Leadership. She is the past director of the college’s nursing leadership concentration. She is a member of the ECU College of Nursing Hall of Fame and a past recipient of ECU’s Scholar-Teacher Award. Prior to entering academia, Scott worked for 20 years in a variety of clinical and administrative roles, including as founder and president of a regional home health care organization in North Carolina.

The National Academies of Practice is a nonprofit organization with membership representing 14 health care professions willing to advise governmental bodies on health care. Fellows, who are elected by their peers, must have an exemplary career
of 10 years or more, and be committed to interprofessional practice
and accessible, affordable health care for all.