ECU Logo


Acute Care
ACUTE CARE - Faculty

The strength of the Acute Care Surgery Fellowship is undoubtedly the faculty. Dr. Michael Rotondo, current Chairman of the Department of Surgery, having arrived in 1999 as the Chief of the Division of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, focused immediately on recruitment of fellowship trained surgeons with a commitment to teaching. Dr. Rotondo recruited Scott Sagraves, current Chief of the Division, Director of Trauma and president-elect of EAST, and Eric Toschlog, Program Director for the Surgical Critical Care and Acute Care Surgery fellowships, in July of 2000.

Additional faculty include:

Faculty Fellowship Position
Michael Bard Shock Trauma Director, Medical Student Clerkship
Claudia Goettler U. Pennsylvania Program Director, General Surgery Residency
Mark Newell Lincoln MC Associate Director of Trauma
Brett Waibel UNC Chapel Hill Director of Research
David Skarupa Shock Trauma Faculty
Nate Poulin Shock Trauma Faculty

The faculty of the Division of Acute Care Surgery are dedicated educators, each having received formal recognition for teaching excellence. The Division is heavily engaged in leadership and service to both the Brody School of Medicine and Vidant Medical Center.