Department of Surgery News

Department of Surgery News

Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon

Dr. Walter Pories recognized for his contributions to Medicine
The Houston Academy of Medicine presented Dr. Walter Pories with the John P. McGovern Compleat Physician Award on January 18, 2013 for his many notable accomplishments reflecting the ideals of Sir William Osler, considered the father of modern medicine.

Mark Newell honored with St. Martin of Tours Award
Vidant Medical Center honored Dr. Mark Newell with the St. Martin of Tours Award on October 30, 2012.  Staff Chaplain David Fambrough presented the award to Dr. Newell, who was recognized for his compassionate care as a Trauma Surgeon. 

2012 Brody Women Faculty Advocacy Award goes to Dr. Kathryn Verbanac
This award is given annually by the Brody Women Faculty Committee at East Carolina University to an individual who best demonstrates leadership in promoting, encouraging or implementing policies to facilitate the professional development of women faculty and/or students.

Dr. Eric Toschlog appointed Chief of the Division of Acute Care Surgery
The Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University is pleased to announce the appointment of Eric A. Toschlog, MD FACS FCCM as Chief of the Division of Acute Care Surgery.

Dr. Walter Pories receives Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Walter Pories has been selected as one of two 2012-2013 recipients of the ECU Lifetime Achievement for Excellence in Research and Creative Activity Award.

Department of Surgery physicians and staff obtain high scores on the 2011 "Patients First" Survey
"Patients First" is a practice-wide initiative at ECU Physicians to improve patient access to clinics, improve facilities and clinic operations, and to ensure that ECU Physicians remains committed to the highest quality care and customer service.

ECU Plastic Surgery accredited by AAAASF
We are proud to announce that ECU Plastic Surgery was recently accredited by the American Association  for Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgery Facilities (AAAASF). 

ECU, PCMH provide gift of life via six-person kidney exchange
Doctors from the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University and Eastern Urological Associates teamed up to perform what is believed to be the first successful six-person kidney exchange in the Carolinas.


East Carolina University | Department of Surgery
600 Moye Blvd. | Greenville, NC 27834 USA
Contact Us
© 2014 | Terms of Use | Accessibility
Give To East Carolina University