Connect With Us

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn RSS

Profiles in Diversity

The Profiles in Diversity award recognizes faculty or staff from across the College of Education (COE) for their commitment to issues of diversity, equity, and social justice in their life and work. When choosing recipients for this honor, the Diversity Committee considers a broad spectrum of nominees in order to recognize, highlight, and honor COE faculty and staff whose contributions:

  • Lead to new understandings of inequality
  • Enrich the lives of historically underserved populations
  • Advocate for and catalyze changes in oppressive social systems and structures, or
  • Push us towards the realization of equity within schools and communities.

Special attention is given to faculty and staff whose identities and work may have been historically marginalized in society and mainstream educational research and practice.

Profiles in Diversity Winner - Anne Swenson Ticknor
Dr. Anne Swenson Ticknor

is an Associate Professor in Reading Education in the Literacy Studies, English Education, and History Education Department. Dr. Ticknor obtained her Ph.D. in Language, Literacy, and Culture from the University of Iowa and her MA in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. View Dr. Ticknor's full profile.

Profiles in Diversity Winner - Loni Crumb
Dr. Loni Crumb

is an Assistant Professor in the Counselor Education Program in the Department of Interdisciplinary Professions at East Carolina University and a Licensed Professional Counselor. She received her Ph.D. in Counseling and Student Personnel Services from the University of Georgia, M.A. in Education and Community Counseling from Clark Atlanta University, and B.A. in Psychology from North Carolina State University.View Dr. Crumb's full profile.

Profiles in Diversity Winner - Christopher Rivera
Dr. Christopher J. Rivera

is an Assistant Professor in Special Education and is a part of the Special Education, Research, and Foundations Department. His research interests include working with diverse students with moderate and severe disabilities, technology in education, and teacher preparation. View Dr. Rivera's full profile.

Profiles in Diversity Winner - Caitlin Ryan
Dr. Caitlin Law Ryan

is an Associate Professor in Reading Education and is a part of the Literacy Studies, English Education, and History Education Department. Her research interests include multicultural children’s and young adult literature, literacy as social practice in elementary schools, interdisciplinary literacy studies, and queer theory. View Dr. Ryan's full profile.

Dr. Benjamin Blaisdell
Dr. Benjamin Blaisdell

is currently a Teaching Associate Professor in the Foundations program area at ECU. He serves on the editorial board for Educational Foundations and is involved with the Critical Race Studies in Education Association and the Chapel Hill-Carrboro NAACP. Dr. Blaisdell's scholarship examines race and racism in education from a critical race theory perspective. View Dr. Blaisdell's full profile.

Dr. Syntia D. Santos Figueroa
Dr. Syntia D. Santos Figueroa

is currently working as assistant professor at East Carolina University (ECU). Her areas of interest include cultural competence development, international counseling, international education, counselor education, and school counseling. In addition, Dr. Santos serves as an editorial board member for the Professional Counselor journal (TPC). View Dr. Figueroa's full profile.

Profiles in Diversity Nomination Information

The College of Education Diversity Committee would like to announce its new Profiles in Diversity series. People interested in putting forth a nomination should submit the nomination form below during the open nomination period. 

Once selected, recipients will respond to a questionnaire asking them more about their work and experiences so that their profile can be posted on the COE Diversity webpage and in the display case outside the Dean's office in Speight. Recipients will also be invited to participate in a panel discussion with other recipients at the end of the year.   

We look forward to your nominations!
COE Diversity Committee

Nominations are not being taken at this time. Please keep your nomination ready for when they open again.