Lateral Entry

Contact Us:

Clay Smith
NCTeach Program Director


Office of Alternative Licensure
109 Speight Building
College of Education
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC 27858

Fax: 252-737-2998


The NCTeach pathway is a fast-track option for lateral entry teachers* to clear their provisional license. NCTeach operates in a cohort model and is offered 100% online. NCTeach plans of study consist of 5 courses at distance education tuition rates. With respect to the lateral entry role, all coursework and licensure requirements MUST be completed by the end of your third year of teaching. Lateral Entry Teachers are responsible for securing their own teaching position and will be teaching while they complete their licensure coursework. Failure to maintain employment in the licensure area will result in re-classification as a Licensure Only student and will result in additional coursework. Students must take classes each semester in order to maintain their course planner. Continuous enrollment is required for 5 consecutive semesters (beginning in spring, summer I, or fall) as identified on the approved course planner. NCTeach acceptance is a separate process from institutional admission, so please secure NCTeach acceptance prior to applying with ECU Admissions.

*Prospective students who follow a lateral entry pathway at ECU are individuals currently employed as a teacher of record in a NC More at Four Classroom, Public school, or Public Charter school.

Licensure Area Licensure Only Individual Lateral Entry NCTEACH Master of Arts in Teaching
Art K-12  
Dance K-12    
Elementary K-6  
English 9-12  
Family and Consumer Science 7-12  
French K-12    
German K-12    
Health/Physical Education K-12  
Hispanic Studies    
History/Social Studies 9-12  
Math 9-12    
Middle Grades: Lang. Arts, Math, Science, and Social Studies  
Music K-12  
Science 9-12  
Special Education General Curriculum
Special Education Adaptive Curriculum
Theatre K-12    
Click here to complete the 2019 Summer Cohort Application! The program application available December 15th, 2018 through March 15th, 2019.