Library Science Education

Accredited by:

ALA Accredited

Contact Us

Dr. Kaye Dotson
Program Area Coordinator
108 Ragsdale Building

Ms. Christy Hines
Administrative Support Associate
213 Ragsdale Building

Get Connected to MLS

MLS Facebook MLS Twitter

Quick Links

Student Email



Pirate Port

ECU ALA Student Chapter

On February 5, 2005 ECU’s library science program became the first student chapter to be chartered under a new initiative to permit programs endorsed by the American Association of School Librarians (AASL), a division of the America Library Association (ALA), to form student chapters.  In 2015 the MLS program added the American Library Association (ALA) accreditation to its AASL endorsement. The student chapter offers a variety of learning and networking opportunities to MLS students interested in academic, public, school, and special libraries. Every matriculated MLS student is a member of the ALA student chapter.

The Chapter is active with online meetings and guest speakers, which enhances students' total learning experience. These meetings have featured respected professionals such as Ann Martin, the 2008-2009 AASL President, Faye Snodgrass, Executive Director of Kappa Delta Pi, Barbara Stripling, the 2013-2014 ALA President, Karen O'Brien, the Director of the ALA Office for Accreditation, public library directors throughout the state, and school library media consultants at the NC Department of Public Instruction.

The chapter focuses its efforts on a successful annual "Give the Gift of Reading" Book Drive, a series of online presentations by eminent librarians. The Book Drive is the chapter's signature event. Since the Book Drive's inception in 2006 more than 1,400 books have been collected and donated to organizations throughout North Carolina.

Each year, the MLS faculty select a representative to attend ALA Annual in the Student-to-Staff program.  The student must be in the first tier of the program, have exemplary grades,  and show evidence of leadership potential.  The chosen representative becomes the in-coming ECU ALA Student Chapter President.

The following students represented the ECU MLS program at ALA Annual in the Student-to-Staff program:

  • 2018 New Orleans: John Dunning
  • 2017 Chicago: Michelle Osborne
  • 2016 Orlando: Hugh Davis
  • 2015 San Francisco: Barbara Flohr                               
  • 2014 Las Vegas: Jennifer Whitley
  • 2013 Chicago: Mary Tobin
  • 2012 Anaheim: Kristen Neal Johnson
  • 2011 New Orleans: Kelly Loftis
  • 2010 Washington: Colleen Sophia Pinyan
  • 2009 Chicago: Jill Whitson
  • 2008 Anaheim: Kevin Vickers
  • 2007 Washington, DC: Stacey Menzies
  • 2006 New Orleans: Joetta Stoner
For more information contact :
ALA Student Chapter Faculty Advisor
Dr. Jami Jones

Dept. of Information and Library Science
East Carolina University
218 Ragsdale Greenville, NC 27858
Phone: 252.341.6490