College of Education

Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education

College of Education Menu

Welcome from Eta Chi ChapterKappa Delta Pi Logo

"Kappa Delta Pi, International Honor Society in Education,founded in 1911, was established to foster excellence in education and promote fellowship among those dedicated to teaching. The founders chose the name from the Greek words to represent knowledge, duty, and power. Pioneering from its beginning as an inclusive organization, Kappa Delta Pi grew into the international organization it is today, comprising 600 chapters and more than 40,000 members. Famous KDP members, past and present, include Albert Einstein, George Washington Carver, Eleanor Roosevelt, Margaret Mead, Alfie Kohn, Lisa Delpit, James Banks, and Howard Gardner. To date, more than 1,200,000 educators worldwide have been inducted into this international honor society.

The Eta Chi chapter of KDP was installed by Dr. Richard McElhemy in May of 1953. Our chapter takes pride in those educators in the ECU and eastern North Carolina communities who have demonstrated excellence in their academic, professional, and personal achievements."

Chapter Representatives

Dr. Caitlin Ryan
Co-Counselor
ryanca@ecu.edu
Dr. Christina Tschida
Co-Counselor
tschidac@ecu.edu
Dr. Lori Flint
Immediate Past Co-Counselor
flintl@ecu.edu

2014-2015 Officers:

President: Melyssa Gomez  - gomezm12@students.ecu.edu
Vice President:  Lyndsie Harrell - harrelll13@students.ecu.edu
Secretary: Avery Spey - speya12@students.ecu.edu
Treasurer: Stephanie Blatz - blatzst13@students.ecu.edu
Program Coordinator: Sade Sanders - sanderssa12@students.ecu.edu
Data Manager: Emilia Sotolongo - sotolongoe13@students.ecu.edu

2013-2014 Officers:

President: Courtney Echeverria - echeverriac10@students.ecu.edu
Vice-President: Haley Wade - wadeh10@students.ecu.edu
Secretary: Teresa McGowan - mcgowant12@students.ecu.edu
Treasurer: Abby Colley - colleya10@students.ecu.edu
Historian: Tadria Wallace - wallacet12@students.ecu.edu
Officers-At-Large: Beth Gosnell - gosnellb12@students.ecu.edu
                            Ashley McAvoy - mcavoya10@students.ecu.edu