Education Community of Scholars

Upcoming Events

Contact Us

Dr. Dionna Manning
138 Rivers Building


Ms. Dominique Boyd
Administrative Assistant
138 Rivers Building

Welcome to the Home of the Maynard Scholars

The Treasures of ECU!

James and Connie Maynard and the College of Education established the Maynard Scholars Program at East Carolina University on May 31, 2006. This four year $20,000 award is available to outstanding high school seniors each year.

The Maynard Scholars program is modeled after the N.C. Teaching Fellows Scholarship and as so, recipients will be expected to teach in a public, charter or government school for four years in one of the stated counties following graduation. Individuals have up to seven years to complete this requirement. The Maynard Scholarship is administered from the ECU NC Teaching Fellows office.

Maynard Counties


Beaufort ∙ Bertie ∙ Bladen ∙ Brunswick ∙ Camden ∙ Carteret ∙ Chatham ∙ Chowan ∙ Columbus ∙ Craven ∙ Cumberland ∙ Currituck ∙ Dare ∙ Duplin ∙ Durham ∙ Edgecombe ∙ Franklin ∙ Gates ∙ Granville ∙ Greene ∙ Halifax ∙ Harnett ∙ Hertford ∙ Hoke ∙ Hyde ∙ Johnston ∙ Jones ∙ Lee ∙ Lenoir ∙ Martin ∙ Nash ∙ New Hanover ∙ Northampton ∙ Onslow ∙ Orange ∙ Pamlico ∙ Pasquotank ∙ Pender ∙ Perquimans ∙ Person ∙ Pitt ∙ Robeson ∙ Sampson ∙ Tyrrell ∙ Vance ∙ Wake ∙ Warren ∙ Washington ∙ Wayne ∙ Wilson
To Apply
  • Go to ECU's Academic Works Website at and complete an online application. If you are eligible for this Scholars Program, you must click on other opportunities.
  • Deadline - Applications will close at Midnight on January 15, 2017.
  • Maynard  Recommendation Form (Save the Form, then complete it using Adobe Acrobat Reader. It cannot be completed directly within the web browser.)
  • Will be conducted at ECU on Saturday, February 11, 2017 and Saturday, February 18, 2017  (interview times will be assigned by the Education Scholars office).
  • Applicants selected for an interview will be notified by email and mail.