East Carolina University. Tomorrow starts here.®
College of Education
The Walter and Daisy Carson Latham Clinical Schools Network

Latham Clinical Schools Network


2002 Winner Christa McAuliffe Award for
Excellence in Teacher Education

The Walter and Daisy Carson Latham Clinical Schools Network is a partnership between East Carolina University and 36 public school systems in eastern North Carolina.  The school systems include: Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Carteret, Clinton City, Craven, Cumberland, Dare, Duplin, Edenton-Chowan, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash/Rocky Mount, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pitt, Roanoke Rapids, Sampson, Tyrrell, Vance, Washington, Weldon City, Wayne and Wilson. Within the network, there are approximately 564 schools with over 22,500 teachers who participate in partnership efforts.   The network has been in existence since the 1996-1997 academic year, when all teacher education programs were restructured from a 10-week student teaching requirement to a year-long Senior Year Experience.

What are the key functions of the Latham Clinical Schools Network?

  • Provides a network in which public schools and East Carolina University can collaborate
  • Seeks to enhance recruitment, retention, and renewal of teachers from pre-service to in-service
  • Provides quality field placements and clinical experiences for teacher education candidates
  • Facilitates the implementation of innovative practices and new initiatives in both public schools and universities
  • Provides continuous professional development for public school and university partners


 What are the benefits of the Latham Clinical Schools Network?

  • Collaborative power of 36 public school systems and the largest teacher preparation institution in the State of North Carolina
  • Quality field placements for pre-service teachers with trained clinical teachers in diverse public school settings
  • A shared responsibility for the recruitment, induction, retention, and renewal of teachers in eastern North Carolina
  • Authentic clinical experiences in which university faculty, public school faculty, teacher education candidates and public school students can interact

 Latham Clinical Schools Network Distinguishing Features

  • Over 700 Senior Year Experience interns placed within the Network
  • Over 2500 undergraduate practicum students placed within the Network
  • "Latham Awards for Excellence in Teaching" Medals and $1500.00 cash awards given to four graduating teacher education seniors
  • Clinical Schools Network Training Sessions for faculty and clinical teachers
  • Clinical Teacher Conference for clinical teachers and university faculty annually
  • Professional Development Sessions for clinical teachers and faculty on a variety of topics

The Walter and Daisy Carson Latham Clinical Schools Network
East Carolina University
110 Speight Building
Greenville, NC 27858
Phone: 252-328-6051
Fax: 252-328-2361

Latham Clinical Schools Network Contacts
County/School Title First Last Title
Beaufort County Mr. John Conway Executive Director of Human Resources/Assist. Superintendent
Bertie  Ms. Angela Watson Personnel Administrator
Camden Ms.  Paula Mickey Director of Human Resources and Community Schools
Carteret County Dr. Blair Propst Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources
Clinton City* Ms Nancy Dillman Assistant Superintendant for Administrative Services
Craven  Ms.  Wendy  Miller  Director of Human Resources 
Cumberland Ms. Kristen White Certified Personnel Specialist
Dare Mr. Trip Hobbs  Director of Personnel 
Duplin Ms.
Human Resources/ILT Specialist
Edenton-Chowan Ms. Brenda Winborne Director of Teacher Development
Edgecombe County Ms.
Charlene Pittman Director- Personnel Support Programs
Director- Personnel Support Programs
Franklin Dr. Elizabeth Keith Secondary Education
Gates Ms. Twana Harvey-Morales Director of Curriculum and Instruction
Granville  Ms.  Angela  Cogdill  Coordinator of Professional Development 
Greene County Ms. Gwen Smith Executive Director of Human Resources
Halifax County Dr. Farrell Young Director of Human Resources
Harnett Ms. Janice Taylor Director of Personnel
Hertford County Dr. Betty Pugh Executive Director of Human Services
Hyde Ms. Kelly Brooks Director of Personnel
Johnston County Ms. Angela Jacobs HR Director of Professional Support
Jones County Mr. Otis Smallwood Executive Director of Human Resources
Lenoir County Ms. Kim
Hazelgrove Director of Human Resources
Martin County Mrs. Anna Howell Personnel Director
Nash-Rocky Mount Mr. Victor Ward Director of Personnel
Northampton Dr. Shirley Smith Human Resources
Onslow County Ms. C.J. Korenek Human Resources Director
Pamlico County Ms. Shakia Boone Associate Superintendent
Pitt Ms. Delilah Jackson BTSP/NBSP Coordinator
Roanoke Rapids** Ms. Dorothy Wardsworth Director of Human Resources
Sampson Ms. Brenda Nordin ILT/Mentor Coordinator
Tyrrell Ms. Joanne Smith Director of Curriculum & Instruction
Vance Mr. Will McLean Executive Director of Human Resources
Washington Ms. Fay Agar HR Coordinator
Wayne County Ms. Deborah Durham Director of Human Resources
Weldon City ** Ms. Tracy Gary Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment
Wilson Ms. Michele Kennedy ILT Coordinator

* Located in Sampson County
** Located in Halifax County