ECU Logo
 
The College of Health and Human Performance
Department of Kinesiology




 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


Faculty Contributing to the Bioenergetics and Exercise Science Program

Tenured and Tenure Track Faculty

Ethan A. Anderson (Assistant Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology) B.S., University of Minnesota – Twin Cities; Ph.D., Yale University. Brody School of Medicine; (252)744-2757, andersonet@ecu.edu.

Jeffrey J. Brault (Assistant Professor of Kinesiology, Physiology, and Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) B.S. Marquette University; Ph.D. University of Missouri-Columbia. 3W40A Brody School of Medicine; braultj@ecu.edu.

David A. Brown (Assistant Professor of Physiology). Virginia Tech, Ph.D. University of Colorado at Boulder. 6N-98 Brody School of Medicine; Brownda@ecu.edu.

Ronald N. Cortright (Professor of Kinesiology, and Physiology) B.A., Hiram College; M.A., Ph.D., Kent State University. Ward Sports Medicine Building-371; (252) 737-4678, cortrightr@ecu.edu

Zachary Domire (Associate Professor of Kinesiology : Biomechanics Laboratory); B.S., MS., Ph.D.(The Pennsylvania State University); 332A Ward Sports Medicine Building; domirez@ecu.edu

G. Lynis Dohm (Professor of Physiology) B.S., M.S., Ph.D., Kansas State University, (252) 744-2682, dohmg@ecu.edu

Katsu Funai (Assistant Professor of Kinesiology, and Physiology) B.S., M.S., Boston University; Ph.D., University of Michigan. 371A Ward Sports Medicine Building; (252) 737-4684, funaik@ecu.edu.

Robert C. Hickner (Professor of Kinesiology, and Physiology; Director of the Bioenergetics and Exercise Science PhD Program; Co-Director of Research, Center for Health Disparities)) B.S., Indiana University; M.S., Ball State University; Ph.D., The Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden. 379 Ward Sports Medicine Building; (252) 737-4677, hicknerr@ecu.edu

Joseph A. Houmard (Professor of Kinesiology; Director, Human Performance Laboratory), B.A., Manchester College; M.A., Miami University; Ph.D., Ball State University. 380 Ward Sports Medicine Building; (252) 737-4617, houmardj@ecu.edu

Hu Huang (Assistant Professor of Kinesiology, and Physiology) B.S., Shanghai University (China); M.S., Ph.D., University of Tsukuba (Japan). 388 Ward Sports Medicine Building; (252) 737-2879, huangh@ecu.edu

P. Darrell Neufer (Professor of Physiology, and Kinesiology) B.S., West Virginia Wesleyan College; M.A., Ball State University; Ph.D., East Carolina University.  6W39 Brody Building; (252) 737-1551, neuferp@ecu.edu

Saame Raza Shaikh (Assistant Professor Biochemistry & Molecular Biology) B.S., Purdue University; M.S., Purdue University; Ph.D., Indiana University. 5S-18 Brody School of Medicine; (252) 744-2585, SHAIKHSA@ecu.edu

Damon L. Swift (Assistant Professor of Kinesiology, Dual appointment: Center of Health Disparities) B.A., M.Ed. M.S., Ph.D. University of Virginia. 107 FITT Building. (252) 737-1338, swiftd@ecu.edu

Christopher J. Wingard (Associate Professor of Physiology) B.S. Hiram College, M.S. University of Washington, Ph.D. Wayne State University. 6W-39 Brody School of Medicine. 252-744-2804, Wingardc@ecu.edu.

Carol A. Witczak (Assistant Professor of Kinesiology, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and Physiology)  B.A. Colgate University, Ph.D. University of Missouri-Columbia.  3S08A Brody School of Medicine; (252) 744-1224; witczakc@ecu.edu

Fixed-term faculty

Donghai Zheng (Research Instructor of Kinesiology) B.A., Nanjing University; M.A., M.S., Ph.D., East Carolina University. 3E57 Brody Building; (252) 744-3465, zhengd@ecu.edu

Charles J. Tanner (Instructor, Research Associate of Kinesiology). B.S., M.A., East Carolina University. 363B Ward Sports Medicine Building; (252) 737-468, Tannerc@ecu.edu