W. Keats Sparrow Writing Award

The W. Keats Sparrow Writing Award recognizes excellence in research and writing by students in East Carolina University's English 1100 and 1200 composition classes.  The award is sponsored by the Friends of Joyner Library and is named in honor of Dr. W. Keats Sparrow, Professor Emeritus of English and Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

2013-2014 Guidelines & Application Form (Word Document)

Entries Due: Friday, May 9, 2014 at 5pm

For more information, please contact David Hisle by phone: 252-328-4978 or e-mail:

W. Keats Sparrow Award Winners

Michael F. Bassman Honors Thesis Award

The Michael F. Bassman Honors Thesis Award was established in 2010 to recognize excellence in research and writing by students in East Carolina University's Honors College.  The award, in the amount of $500, is sponsored by Joyner Library and honors Dr. Michael F. Bassman, Associate Professor of Foreign Languages & Literatures, formerly Associate Vice Chancellor of the Honors Program, and its first Distinguished Honors Professor.  Winners of the award are celebrated in a ceremony in December each year in Joyner Library.  For more information about the award, see:

Rhem-Schwarzmann Prize

The Rhem-Schwarzmann Prize for Recognition of Student Research was established by Mrs. Ann Schwarzmann to honor William and Emily Rhem and Theodore and Ann Schwarzmann, the Rhem-Schwarzmann Prize annually recognizes outstanding research papers written by sophomores, juniors, and seniors at East Carolina University.  Cash prizes in the amount of $750, $500, and $250 will be awarded to first-, second-, and third-place winners.  Papers can be in any field of study, but must be based largely on primary sources held by J. Y. Joyner Library's Manuscripts and Rare Books Department and University Archives.

Paper Guidelines - Entries Due electronically on January 31st each year.

View Previous Rhem-Schwarzmann Prize Winners

Awards - Joyner Library

Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon
Give To East Carolina University