MENU
Joyner Library
Today's Joyner Hours View All
Phone: (252) 328-4176
Joyner Library

Manuscripts and Rare Books

The East Carolina Manuscript Collection, part of the Special Collections Division, is comprised of approximately 5,000 cubic feet of documentary materials in more than 1,800 collections. Holdings include letters, diaries, legal and financial records, photographs, and scrapbooks dating from the eighteenth century to the present. The Manuscript Collection actively seeks papers pertaining to literature, military history, the work of missionaries worldwide, North Carolina, naval and maritime history, and the tobacco industry. Book collections include the Rare Book Collection, which emphasizes travel accounts and works pertaining to the early Atlantic World, slavery and plantation life in the American South, and maritime, military, and naval history; the J. Edgar Hoover Collection on International Communism; and The James H. and Virginia Schlobin Literature of the Fantastic Collection.

Department Personnel

Dale Sauter

Head, of Manuscripts & Rare Books- Manuscript Curator
sauterd@ecu.edu
(252) 328-0275

Name Title Email Address Phone Number
Sherry Cortes Project Archivist cortess17@ecu.edu (252) 328-0276
Jonathan Dembo Special Collections Curator demboj@ecu.edu (252) 328-2661
Martha Elmore Manuscript Archivist elmorem@ecu.edu (252) 328-0274
Nanette Hardison Manuscript Technician hardisonn@ecu.edu (252) 328-0404
Ralph Scott Curator, Printed Books & Maps scottr@ecu.edu (252) 328-0265

Location

Drum
Fourth Floor
Joyner Library

Contact

252-328-6601 (desk)
252-328-0268 (fax)

Services