County Records on Microfilm

The county records on microfilm include bonds, land, marriage and vital statistics, roads and bridges, schools, tax and fiscal, wills and as well as other records. These records are an invaluable resource for researchers and a complete list of the holdings in the North Carolina Collection can be accessed by clicking on the county name listed below.

Beaufort County name changed from Pamtecough in 1712

Bertie County – formed in 1722 from Chowan County

Camden County – formed in 1777 from Pasquotank County

Carteret County – formed in 1722 from Craven County

Chowan County – formed in 1670 as a precinct in Albemarle County

Craven County – formed in 1705 and originally named Archdale, name changed to Craven in 1712

Currituck County – formed in 1670 from Albemarle County

Dare County – formed in 1870 from Currituck, Tyrrell, and Hyde Counties

Duplin County – formed in 1750 from New Hanover County

Edgecombe County – formed in 1741 from Bertie County

Gates County – formed in 1779 from Chowan, Hertford, and Perquimans Counties

Greene County – name changed from Glasgow County in 1799

Halifax County – formed in 1758 from Edgecombe County

Hertford County – formed in 1759 form Chowan County

Hyde County – name changed from Wickham County about 1712

Johnston County – formed in 1746 from Craven County

Jones County – formed in 1779 from Craven County

Lenoir County – formed in 1791 from Dobbs County

Martin County – formed in 1774 from Halifax and Tyrrell County

Nash County – formed in 1777 from Edgecombe County

Northampton County – formed in 1741 from Bertie County

Onslow County – formed in 1734 from New Hanover County

Pamlico County – formed in 1872 from Craven and Beaufort Counties

Pasquotank County – formed in 1670 as a precinct in Albemarle County

Perquimans County – formed in 1670 as a precinct in Albemarle County

Pitt County – formed in 1760 from Beaufort County

Tyrrell County – formed in 1729 from Chowan, Currituck, and Pasquotank Counties

Washington County – formed in 1799 from Tyrrell County

Wayne County – formed in 1799 from Dobbs County

Wilson County – formed in 1855 from Edgecombe, Johnston, Nash, and Wayne Counties

County Records on Microfilm - Joyner Library

Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon