W. Keats Sparrow Award Winners 2009

The W. Keats Sparrow English 1200 award recognizes excellence in research and writing by students in East Carolina University's English 1200 composition classes. The award is sponsored by the Friends of Joyner Library and is named in honor of Dr. W. Keats Sparrow, Professor Emeritus of English and Former Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Sarah Holmes of Belvidere, North Carolina earned first place honors with her work entitled "Standardized Testing and the No Child Left Behind Act: A Failing Attempt at Reform."  Second place went to Benjamin Aydelette of Greensboro, North Carolina for "God's Place in School." William Dorinsky of Raleigh, North Carolina won third place for his paper, "The Treacherous Commute: Could Biker Friendly Roads Promote Healthy Living and Protect Commuters?"

Also deserving recognition are the instructors of the English 1200 sections that produced the winners. Lynn Whichard was Sarah Holmes' instructor; Benjamin Aydelette's instructor was Randall Martoccia; and Chandra Cerrutti was William Dorinsky's instructor. 

Judges for the competition were Dr. Wendy Sharer, Associate Professor of English and Director of the First Year Writing Program, Mr. Joseph Campbell, English Department Lecturer, and Mr. David Hisle, Library Fellow.

W. Keats Sparrow Award Winners 2009

Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon