W. Keats Sparrow Award Winners Announced 2011

The W. Keats Sparrow award recognizes excellence in research and writing by students in East Carolina University's English 1100 & 1200 composition classes. The award is sponsored by the Friends of Joyner Library and is named in honor of Dr. W. Keats Sparrow, Professor Emeritus of English and Former Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Kristy Bryant of Jacksonville, North Carolina earned first place honors with her work entitled "Catalysts and Treatments for Dental Anxiety in Children."  Second place went to Lauren Wilson of Norfolk, Virginia for "A Pollock Piece." Elizabeth Smith of Holly Springs, North Carolina won third place for her paper, "Infection Control in the Intensive Care Unit."

Also deserving recognition are the instructors of the English 1200 sections that produced the winners. Barbara Salvadori-Heritage was Kristy Bryant's instructor; Marc Petersen was Lauren Wilson's instructor; and Dr. Brian Glover was Elizabeth Smith's instructor.

Judges for the competition were Dr. Wendy Sharer, Associate Professor of English and Director of the First Year Writing Program, Mr. Joe Campbell, Teaching Instructor, and Mr. Brandon Stilley, Library Technician.

W. Keats Sparrow Award Winners Announced 2011

Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon