W. Keats Sparrow Award Winners Announced 2012

The W. Keats Sparrow award recognizes excellence in research and writing by students in East Carolina University's English 1100 & 1200 composition classes. The award is sponsored by the Friends of Joyner Library and is named in honor of Dr. W. Keats Sparrow, Professor Emeritus of English and Former Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Ashley Lamb of Bath, North Carolina earned first place honors with her work entitled "What About a Feedsack Dress?"  Second place went to Janelle O'Callaghan of Carolina Beach, North Carolina for "Society's Struggle with Opium".  Danny Franch of Willow Springs, North Carolina won third place for his paper, "Hey Barbie, Math Class is not Tough."

Also deserving recognition are the instructors of the English 1200 sections that produced the winners. Dr. Brian Glover was Ashley Lamb and Janelle O'Callaghan's instructor; and Dr. Randall Martoccia was Danny Franch's instructor.

Judges for the competition were Dr. Wendy Sharer, Associate Professor, Department of English & Quality Enhancement Program Chair; Dr. Tracy Morse, Director of Composition, Assistant Professor, Department of English; and Mr. Brandon Stilley, Library Technician, J. Y. Joyner Library.

W. Keats Sparrow Award Winners Announced 2012

Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon