W. Keats Sparrow Award Winners Announced 2013

The W. Keats Sparrow award recognizes excellence in research and writing by students in East Carolina University's English 1100 & 1200 composition classes. The award is sponsored by the Friends of Joyner Library and is named in honor of Dr. W. Keats Sparrow, Professor Emeritus of English and Former Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Lea W. Taylor of Faison, North Carolina earned first place honors with her work entitled "Spreading the Spectrum".  Second place went to Mikayla Ritchey of Greenville, North Carolina for "Breastfeeding: The Facts and Issues".  Allyson Middleton of King, North Carolina won third place for her paper, "Religion Versus Women's Reproductive Rights in the Pharmacy Field".

Also deserving recognition are the instructors of the English 1200 sections that produced the winners.  Angela Mellor was Lea W. Taylor's instructor, Emilia Johnson was Mikayla Ritchey's instructor, and Dr. Brian Glover was Allyson Middleton's instructor.

Judges for the competition were Dr. Tracy Morse, Director of Composition/Writing Foundations; Marc Petersen, Teaching Assistant Professor, Department of English; and Janis Skoczylas, University Technician, J. Y. Joyner Library.

W. Keats Sparrow Award Winners Announced 2013

Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon