East Carolina University. Tomorrow starts here.®
 
East Carolina University
ECU Reads


ECU Reads Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin




Campus Events
Schedule subject to change.

September 2009

Monday, September 14

  • ENGL 1100 Classes Begin Reading Three Cups of Tea
  • Leadership Reading Circle

Monday, September 21

  • Essay contest begins. Eight winners selected for November rock climbing trip.
  • Leadership Reading Circle

Monday, September 28

  • COAD Climbing Wall events start. End of September through December. Every other Monday from 8:00pm- 9:00pm. Instructors call and reserve a spot.
  • Leadership Reading Circle

October 2009

Monday, October 5

  • Volunteer and Service Learning Project Begins

Wednesday, October 14

  • COAD Classes 1000 Begins Reading Three Cups of Tea

Saturday, October 17

  • ECU Homecoming

Saturday, October 24 - Sunday, October 25

Wednesday, October 28

  • Global Classroom Event

November 2009

Monday, November 2

  • Volunteer and Service Learning Project Ends
  • Panel Discussion
  • Essay entries due to Brad Biggs

Saturday, November 21

  • Climbing Trip for Essay Contest Winners 

January 2010

  • Global Classroom event this month, TBD

Monday, January 11

  • Volunteer and Service Learning Project Begins

February 2010

Sunday, February 21

  • Student Art Show in Mendenhall Student Center

Sunday, February 28

  • Student Art Show in Mendenhall Student Center

March 2010

Monday, March 1

  • Author of Three Cups of Tea Greg Mortenson visits ECU to talk about his book and his work with the Central Asia Institute and Pennies for Peace. Wright Auditorium, 7:00pm.

Monday, March 15 - Thursday, March 18

  • International Education Week
  • International Women's Day on March 16 on the mall spotlighting Women's Literacy Worldwide

 

 

 
Three Cups of Tea book cover. One man's mission to promote peace one school at a time.