Out-of-State Community College Transfers
The College of Engineering and Technology is excited to welcome students who started their college experience elsewhere, but would like to call ECU home. We pride ourselves on making the transfer process a smooth one.
What Are The Transfer Requirements?
The College of Engineering and Technology offers excellent opportunities for students transferring from community colleges outside of North Carolina. We commonly work with students who possess Associate in Arts (AA) and Associate in Science (AS) degrees. We even offer special programs for students with Associate in Applied Science (AAS) degrees. Please click HERE for updated transfer admission requirements.
Which Major Is Right For Me?
Take your time and explore the College of Engineering and Technology majors HERE. Our College is committed to helping students excel, lead and innovate. Students with Associate in Applied Science (AAS) degrees are strongly encouraged to explore our Industrial Technology and Construction Management AAS transfer programs.
Prospective Out-of-State Community College Transfer Student Checklist
·Inform your current advisor about your plans to transfer to ECU.
·Stay up-to-date with courses that will transfer by visiting our transfer equivalency guide.
·Schedule a campus visit HERE.
·Apply for admission no later than early in your last semester at your current school. Official transcripts from all schools you have attended must be submitted to ECU.
·Up-to-date tuition and fee information can be found HERE
·Residency requirements can be found HERE
What Resources Are Available?
·Your Academic Advisor is an excellent source of information, encouragement and guidance. Learn how to make an appointment HERE.
·Many student organizations offer specific opportunities for transfer students
Important Note to Residents Outside North Carolina
Admission of applicants residing outside the State of North Carolina to an online degree, certificate program or individual online course offered by East Carolina University, is dependent on ECU's ability to secure authorization from the applicant's state of residence, if such authorization is required. Due to evolving changes in higher education regulations, at this time, ECU is unable to serve all of the students that are interested in our courses or programs. ECU will no longer be able to offer distance education online programs or courses for students residing in Alabama, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Maryland, and Ohio. For the most current list of states, visit this link http://eai.ecu.edu/states/. ECU will work with state authorities to allow students in these states who are currently enrolled in an ECU online or certificate program to complete their degree. Additionally, students enrolled in programs or courses that require internships or supervised clinical placements will be unable to complete these activities in the state listed. For questions specific to the state authorization process, call 252/737-1268 or email destateauth@ecu.edu.

Out of State Community College Transfers

Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon
  Follow CET facebook_1 twitter_1 youtube_1


You can use

this text element

or delete it to

add other elements.


Give To East Carolina University