East Carolina University
 
Department of Construction Management


corner_round_right

ADVISORY BOARD

Name

Contact

 Logo

Syed M. Ahmed
Chair

David L. Batie
Undergraduate
Director

Department of Construction Management
ahmeds@ecu.edu

batied@ecu.edu

 ECU

Steve Barber
Sales Manager

Sears Contract, Inc.
sbarber@searscontract.com

 Sears Contract Inc logo

R. Scott Cooper
Marketing Manager

Caterpillar, Inc.
cooper_r_scott@cat.com

 For more than 85 years, Caterpillar Inc. has been making sustainable progress possible and driving positive change on every continent. With 2011 sales and revenues of $60.138 billion, Caterpillar is the world's leading manufacturer of construction and mining equipment, diesel and natural gas engines, industrial gas turbines and diesel-electric locomotives. The company also is a leading services provider through Caterpillar Financial Services, Caterpillar Remanufacturing Services and Progress Rail Services. More information is available at: http://www.caterpillar.com.

Terrance C. Coakley  
Chief Executive Officer

Coakley & Williams Construction, Inc.
tcoakley@coakleywilliams.com

 Coakley & Williams Construction, Inc. is a privately owned firm established in 1961, and is regarded as one of the preeminent contractors in the greater Washington/Baltimore region. The leadership of the firm is stable, cohesive and accessible. Coakley & Williams is consistently ranked among the largest regional Contractors by the Washington Business Journal and is also ranked among the Top 400 Contractors and the Top 100 Design/Builders in the nation by Engineering News Record.

Richard Donnelly
Executive Vice-President

Eddie Williford
Construction
Vice-President

Gregory Poole Equipment Company
donnelly@gregpoole.com


williford@gregpoole.com

Gregory Poole CAT 

Clifton H. Edwards, III
President

CHE Mid-Atlantic, Inc.
cliftonedwards@chemidatlantic.com

 CHE Mid-Atlantic

William H. Farrior, Jr.
President

Farrior & Sons, Inc.
billjr@farriorsons.com

 Farrior and sons

Rick Forrester
Vice President / Pre-Construction Services

Forrester Construction Company
rforrester@forresterconstruction.com

 

Jimmy Hughes 
Vice President, Human Resources

Chris White
Dir. of Business Development

Barnhill Contracting Company jhughes@barnhillcontracting.com


cwhite@barnhillcontracting.com

 Barnhill contracting company

Jay Hughes
CEO

Hughes Construction

 hughes-construction-logo

Joey Hatch
Project Manager

Hamlin Roofing Company
hatch@hamlincos.com

 Hamlin

  Brett Hardy
 
VP of Eastern
  Carolina

  Oldcastle Adams Products Company

Oldcastle Adams

Sam P. Hunter  
President & CEO

T.A. Loving Company
shunter@taloving.com

 TA Loving

Ron Cohn
Senior Vice President

Rodgers Building, Inc.
RCohn@RodgersBuilders.com

 Rogers Builders logo

Mike Kolakowski
President & CEO

KBE Building Corporation
Mkolakowski@kbebuilding.com

 KBE Building Corp logo

 Charles E. Lewis
 
Chief Financial
  Officer

 

 E.R. Lewis Construction Company, Inc.
 
E. R. Lewis Construction Company, Inc. is the leading site work contractor in eastern North Carolina. We believe that with integrity and perseverance we can accomplish anything and our reputation for on-time, on-budget site preparation, utility contracting, excavation and paving is a reflection of that belief. We are an industry leader because we provide all of the services you need leading up to building construction, all without the headaches that slow jobs and raise costs. E.R. Lewis Construction offers comprehensive site work services such as grading, excavation, site utilities, demolition and hauling, as well as electrical work, paving, landscaping, site lighting, irrigation, fencing, dumpster pads and other construction services. In addition, we are one of the few construction companies in North Carolina that holds Commercial Building, Public Utility and Highway licenses. This allows us to work for you as both an Unclassified General Contractor and an Unlimited General Contractor to expedite your project and deliver on time.

John L. Lomax
President

Lomax Construction Company
jlomax@lomaxconstruction.com

 Lomax Construction logo

Robert “Bill” W. Moore

Rutherfoord, Inc.

 

Cleve Paul
President

D.S. Simmons
Cleve.paul@dssimmons.com

 D S Simmons logo

David M. Perry
President

Goldsboro Builders Supply Co., Inc.
DPERRY6961@aol.com

 Goldsboro Builders Supply

John C. (Skip) Plate
Senior Vice President / Bond Manager

USI DC Metro
Skip.Plate@usi.biz

 

Robert N. Ponton  
Northeast Div. Manager

Barrett Paving Materials, Inc.
rponton@barrettpaving.com

 Barrett Paving Materials, Inc. is a heavy highway construction company with a vertically integrated value chain, which includes: quarries, sand and gravel operations, asphalt cement storage terminals, asphalt manufacturing facilities, asphalt paving, complete infrastructure services, and resurfacing and pavement preservation materials and services.

Kevin Rawls
General Manager

WIMCO CORP
kevin@wimcocorp.com

 wimco_logo

John Rogers

Woolems Incorporated
jrogers@woolemsinc.com

 Woolems Inc

Sam Sasser
President

Construction Managers, Inc.
sam@sesasser.com

 Construction Managers, Inc. is proud to be a veteran owned and operated small business in eastern North Carolina. Many of our trade contractors are also veterans. We meet the needs of local veterans by designing and building quality, affordable homes. Commitment to excellence and efficiency has established Construction Managers, Inc. as one of the leading design - build construction management firms. Our services include construction consulting, estimating, scheduling, and expert services in construction claim administrations for both commercial and residential. Construction Managers, Inc. professional construction management control process for medical facilities, luxury homes, and retirement communities has made us one of the most selected construction management firms in the Eastern United States.

Bill Seyler
Senior Project Manager

Bovis Lend Lease
Bill.Seyler@bovislendlease.com

 Bovis Lend Lease logo

J. David Stike
Vice President

Sanford Contractors, Inc.
Dstike@sanfordcontractors.com

 Sanford Contractors logo

E. Travis Stone, Jr.
President

Aliana Development Co.
TravisS@alianadevelopment.com

 Aliana Development Company logo

Lawrence Ed Tipton, II
President

Tipton Builders, Inc.
edtipton2@embarqmail.com

 Tipton Builders

Scott Winstead 
Principal

FMI
SWinstead@fminet.com

 FMI is the largest provider of management consulting, investment banking and research to the engineering and construction industry. We work in all segments of the industry providing clients with value-added business solutions.

Travis Merritt
Vice President

Merritt Piping & Fabrication, Inc.
travis@merrittpiping.com

 Merritt Piping Logo

John T. Bell
President

John T. Bell Co., Inc.

 

Hunter Blount
Vice President

Home Builders Supply, Inc.
hunterblount@gmail.com

 home-builders-supply-nc-logo

Taylor Carr   
Estimator/Project Manager

S.T. Wooten Corporation
taylor.carr@stwcorp.com

 With an emphasis on safety, quality and productivity, S.T. Wooten Corporation provides both construction materials and services across central and eastern North Carolina. The company produces asphalt and ready mix concrete and offers heavy highway construction, grading, utilities, structures, concrete construction, asphalt paving, design-build, and commercial and residential construction. A private, family-owned business, S.T. Wooten celebrated its 60th anniversary in 2012. Headquartered in Wilson, N.C., the company counts more than 900 employees. S.T. Wooten Corporation is a winner of the Sheldon G. Hayes Award and a three-time winner of the Carolinas AGC Pinnacle Award.

Jason Haralson
Vice President

Satterfield & Pontikes Construction, Inc. jharalson@satpon.com

 Satterfield Pontikes logo

Carl Hirrlinger, Jr.
Vice President

James G. Davis Construction Corporation chirrlinger@davisconstruction.com

 James G. Davis Construction Corporation is a progressive, employee owned, award winning general contractor that provides construction services in Washington, DC, Virginia and Maryland. Founded in 1966 the firm has earned a position of leadership within the Washington Metro Area construction industry. As a large regional general contractor DAVIS operates in and is recognized as a leader in many market sectors including commercial base building, commercial interiors, commercial build to suit, high rise residential, mixed use, education, healthcare, technical and specialty use type projects. We offer our clients preconstruction, design-build, construction management and general contracting services and are often honored to team with them at the initiation of the design phase to help cost effectively shape their vision. Our projects are managed with an emphasis on team work and communication with an overall focus on safety, client satisfaction and quality. Successfully delivering on our commitments has allowed DAVIS to negotiate a significant component of our annual work with our repeat clients.

Shane Casey O’Connor
VP/General Council

Craig Construction Srvs., Inc

 Craig Construction Services logo

Jason Pike
Senior Project Manager

Hardin Construction Company
jpike@hardinconstruction.com

 ABOUT HARDIN CONSTRUCTION: Celebrating 66 years of excellence, Hardin Construction Company, LLC is one of the nation’s leading construction services firms, providing unequalled expertise for projects of broad scope and complexity through its culture of integrity, innovation and opportunity. With capabilities in general construction, construction management, design-build and renovation, Hardin is a leader in green building and sustainable practices and is recognized nationally for its safety practices. Privately-held, Hardin’s has offices in Atlanta, Ga., Tampa, Fla., Orlando, Fla., Raleigh, N.C., and Austin, Texas.

David White
Dean

College of Technology and Computer Science
whited@ecu.edu

 ECU