Following the Academic Computer Use Policy and the Student and Employee Computer Use Policy, an employee's access to university resources is removed or adjusted upon department transfer, retirement, resignation or involuntary termination.
An automated report provides the default access deactivation date for two classifications of employees: 1) fixed term, and 2) all other employees. Retirees fall into one or the other category and follow that default schedule. The HR report is a failsafe measure only; an employee's supervisor is required to complete the Account Termination Request form which supersedes the HR automated report.
Here is the default deactivation schedule:
Fixed-term employees. User account access is disabled 8 months after the official exit date.
All other employees. User account access is deactivated one (1) business day after the official exit date.
Retirees. Access privileges are deactivated according to the supervisor notification or appropriate group schedule.
Please note that retirees are allowed to keep their ECU email address if, 1) they reactivate their PirateID through the PID Activation/Maintenance system after the deactivation date, and 2) they access the account at least once a year.
Retirees are also allowed to keep any pre-retirement web space active for scholarly purposes by submitting an IT service request within six months of retiring and keep their ECU email account active. Otherwise, web folders and files are removed from the server.
It is required that a supervisor submit the Account Termination Request form for any separating employee before the last exit date. This form requests the termination category (transfer, retirement, resignation, termination), the exit date, and the access privileges to be removed. If any access privileges need to be reduced before the deactivation date or if privileges need to extend past the normal deactivation date, the supervisor will know this, and should be reflected in the Account Termination Request form.
For example, a supervisor might reduce the level of access to certain systems, such as Banner, through the separation period or revoke this access immediately upon resignation. If any access is necessary past the default deactivation schedule, the supervisor requests this through the Account Termination Request form. Supervisor authorization of employee access is the primary deactivation process and always takes precedence over the more general, comprehensive account deactivation process.
Access this online form through the IT service request system.