Three professors elected to head Faculty Senate

June 26, 2014

By Grace Haskin
ECU News Services

Three East Carolina University professors begin their terms as officers for the university’s Faculty Senate on July 1.

The newly elected officers are Andrew Morehead, who will serve as chair, John Given, who will serve as vice chair, and Kylie Dotson-Blake, who will serve as secretary of the ECU faculty.
Left to right are ECU's newly elected faculty officers John Given, Foreign Languages and Literatures; Andrew Morehead, Chemistry; and Kylie Dotson-Blake, Education. (Photo by Cliff Hollis)

The Faculty Senate represents the general faculty in the shared governance between faculty and administration at ECU.

Morehead, from the Department of Chemistry, served as vice chair of the faculty for the past two years, but he began his service to the ECU faculty senate during his second semester at ECU in 2004. As chair, Morehead will present the faculty’s opinions and concerns to the administration and work with the administration to further ECU’s goals.

Given, of the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, served as a faculty senator for six years and parliamentarian for one year. As vice chair, Given aims to ensure that education is put first while making financially sound decisions. As a long-term goal, he wants to expand study abroad opportunities to more students at ECU.

Dotson-Blake, from the College of Education, has been a faculty senator and was chair of the service-learning committee. As secretary, Dotson-Blake will communicate with faculty, promote transparency and foster collaboration. Her goal is to develop and sustain positive relationships among faculty, administration and stakeholders.

The senate elected the officers at the Faculty Senate’s organizational meeting on April 22 for the 2014-2015 academic year.

For more information about ECU’s Faculty Senate, go to