Medical student society expands to include resident physicians

May 4, 2015
Inductees into the Gold Humanism honor society for 2015 included, first row, left to right, Endya Frye, Kendall Liner and Tatiana Acosta; second row, Eric Katz and Dustin Washburn; third row, Matt Rushing and Matthew Gay; and fourth row, Claudia Douglas, Jordan Lull, and Katy Mayo. (Photos by Gretchen Baugh)

ECU News Services

An organization at East Carolina University honoring medical students who exemplify humanism and professionalism expanded this year to include resident physicians.

The Brody School of Medicine Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society began in 2011, recognizing third-year medical students for demonstrated excellence in clinical care, leadership, compassion and dedication to service.

This year was the first that resident physicians were also inducted into the Brody chapter, each nominated by third-year medical students based on their commitment to teaching and compassionate treatment of patients and families, students and colleagues. Those selected are Dr. Magdelena Broszko (psychiatry); Dr. Amirreza Motameni (surgery); Dr. Randall Proctor Jr. (dermatology); Dr. Chris Richberg (OB/GYN); and Dr. Vontrelle Roundtree (family medicine), who had previously been inducted as a medical student in 2011.

“Resident physicians are important role models for medical students,” said Dr. Herb Garrison, associate dean for Graduate Medical Education at Brody and Vidant Medical Center. “Those residents who demonstrate the character traits of a caring and patient-centered physician - integrity, excellence, altruism, respect and empathy - should be widely recognized and honored.”

Additionally, 10 third-year students from the Brody School of Medicine were inducted into the society this year. They are Tatiana Acosta, Claudia Douglas, Endya Frye, Matthew Gay, Eric Katz, Kendall Liner, Jordan Lull, Katy Mayo, Matt Rushing and Dustin Washburn.
Pictured above are faculty adviser and inductee Dr. Hellen Ransom, row 1; Dr. Vontrelle Roundtree and Dr. Christopher Richberg, row 2; and Dr. Randall Proctor, row 3.

The students join thousands of honor society members in training and practice, inspiring and nurturing humanism in others. Membership in GHHS goes beyond selection and induction into an honor society; its members have a responsibility to model, support and advocate for compassionate, patient-centered care throughout their careers.

During their fourth year of medical school, student inductees select and execute a project that exemplifies humanism; participate in Solidarity Day, a nationwide initiative to highlight humanism in medicine; and sponsor a fundraising event.

Inspiration for the society began in the late 1990s when medical educators and residency program directors expressed the need for a way to identify applicants to residency training programs who had outstanding clinical and interpersonal skills.

The faculty adviser for the Brody chapter is Dr. Hellen Ransom of the Department of Bioethics and Interdisciplinary Studies. She was also inducted into the Brody chapter this year.