ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

ECU elects trustees

(July 8, 1993)   —   The East Carolina University Board of Trustees elected officers and swore in four new members at a meeting in Greenville.
Elected to the chairman post was J. Craig Souza of Raleigh. Souza succeeds D. Wayne Peterson of Wake Forest who resigned to accept an appointment to the UNC Board of Governors.
The board also elected Robert A. Ward of Greensboro as vice chairman and William P. Furr of Charlotte as secretary.
Four new members also officially joined the board. They are Phil R. Dixon of Greenville, Ronald E. Dowdy of Orlando, Fla., H.E. “Gene” Rayfield of Chapel Hill and Burlington and Louis W. Sewell of Jacksonville.
N.C. Court of Appeals Judge K. Edward Greene of Raleigh administered the oath to the new members and to three current members who were reelected to positions on the board. The reelected members were William Baggett of Greenville, Furr and Dr. Valeria Lovelace of New York.