ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

Brody class of 2008 graduates

Mandy McNabb, left, and Kori Buckner show off their medical diplomas following the Brody School of Medicine convocation. Photo by Cliff Hollis
GREENVILLE, N.C.   (May 9, 2008)   —   East Carolina University's latest group of medical graduates entered the next phase of their careers with praise for the work they've done and encouragement to keep their sense of idealism.

Seventy-three medical students participated in today's convocation at Wright Auditorium. A 74th member of the class, Joel Michael Gottesman, was awarded his medical degree posthumously. Gottesman died during his third year of medical school.

Two doctoral students also completed their studies this semester.

Dr. Harry Adams, professor emeritus at the Brody School of Medicine at ECU, was the featured speaker.

"Whatever you do, hang on to that idealism," Adams said. "It's a fragile thing and can easily give way to cynicism."

Adams praised the students' abilities and compassion and urged them to continue to be caring, competent health care providers.

"I would let each of these medical students take care of me and my family, and that's the highest compliment one physician can give another," Adams said.

Graduate Rob Fish, giving the class response, thanked the mothers in attendance on Mother's Day weekend and recalled poignant moments of the class' medical school experience.

"Each of us has had a patient die," Fish said. "Each of us has delivered a baby. I know I speak for the class when I say the more we learn, the more we realize we didn't know."

Following the ceremony, Shawn McGill likely summed up the feelings of many of his fellow students.

"I'm glad the road is over, but a new one is about to begin," he said.

Earlier in the week, the medical school held its annual awards day for medical and graduate students. Following are award recipients:

William R. Valentine Jr. Memorial Graduate Student Award for Best Overall Achievement in 2007: Mohit Mathur, Jarrett Whelan.

Carol F. Volkman Memorial Award, best oral presentation: Vince Contreras.
Best poster presentation: Pamela Cook.

N.C. Schweitzer Fellows: Jacob Cuellar, Joel Chisholm, Michael Gwaltney, Cindy Johns, Steven Manning, Virginia Stewart, Shelly Strickland, Jessica Weeks, Yvonne Whitelaw.

Greenville Community Shelter Clinic Student Service Award: Scott Koehler.

Andrew Best Award, service excellence: Yvonne Whitelaw.
Academic excellence: Shelly Strickland.

Tiana Nicole Williams Memorial Award: Virginia Stewart.

American College of Emergency Physicians Service and Professionalism Award: Virginia Stewart.

Society of Academic Emergency Medicine Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award: Zachary Kiker.

George Podgorny Award: Michelle Canipe.

NCAFP Blair Leadership Award: Cherrie Crowder.

Edgar T. Beddingfield Jr. M.D. Family Medicine Award: Anna Woodall Hudson.

Golden Living Center Award: Allison Murphree.

Excellence in Medical Humanities Award: Amanda McNabb.

Internal Medicine Best Student in Medicine Award: Daphne Harrington.

Eugene D. Furth M.D. Award: Jason Lowery.

Microbiology and Immunology Award: Kevin Lamm.

Ruth A. Carson Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Award: Amanda Jo Robertson.

William E. Laupus Pediatric Award: Amanda McNabb.

Jon B. Tingelstad Pediatric Award: Richard Bloomfield.

Vivian N. Barnes Award: Amanda McNabb.

Phillip G. Nelson Award: Crystal Bullard.

AMWA Malene Irons Award: Virginia Stewart.

James Mathis Award: Joel Chisholm.

Frank H. Longino Award: Lin Riccio.

Faculty Award: Amanda Jo Robertson.

The following faculty members also received awards from the class: Drs. Paul A. Strausbauch, M.J. Barchman, Susan Bane and Brandon Law. The departments of pathology and laboratory medicine and surgery also received awards.


Contact: Doug Boyd | 252-744-2481