ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

ECU honors student employees, supervisors

GREENVILLE, N.C.   (Apr. 23, 2009)   —   A student autopsy assistant from the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University has been named the 2009 Student Employee of the Year.

Maxx Toler of Williamston was nominated by his supervisor, Lisa Leone, for the award, which was given out by the ECU Student Employment office during a banquet held April 15. Toler received a plaque and a $150 cash award.

The Student Employee of the Year award recognizes the outstanding contributions and achievements of students who work while attending college. Student evaluations are based on the following factors: reliability, quality of work, initiative, attitude, professionalism and uniqueness of contribution. 

Of her employee, Leone said, “Maxx is always reliable, and I know I can trust him to work independently because he knows the policies and procedures so well. In Quality Assurance reviews, Maxx has consistently scored 100 percent proficiency and compliance with policy”

Thirty-one students were nominated for the award. Nominees were Casey Askew, Michelle Beracha, Emily Cunningham, Heather Lynn Finkbeiner, Douglas Flowers, Hillary Jo Flythe, Mickey Futrell, Dana Hughes, Jamie Lynn Joyner, Elizabeth Lancaster, Chelsea Malek, Tori Martin, Sara McLeod, Tiffany Mills, Jerry Dwayne Murphy, Damon Percy, Teneshia M. Phillips, Heather Pope, Sean Russell, Kathryn Michelle Serrano, Jasmine Simpson, Shannon Swink, Erin Rene Thompson, Maxx Toler, Alyssa Turner, Erin Vasquez, Brittany M. Waddell, Keith Wagner, Rachelle Wooten, Roxanne Wynne and Pang Yang. Each nominee received a certificate and gift bag filled with donations from local sponsors.

Runner-ups were Michelle Beracha, Douglas Flowers and Sara McLeod. They received an engraved paperweight, along with a $50 cash award.

This year the Student Employment Office also recognized supervisors with a Supervisor of the Year award. Supervisors, who must be permanent employees of ECU, were nominated by their student employees and evaluated by the following criteria: building skills and technical knowledge, providing proper training, modeling professionalism, serving as a role model, and influencing student life, academics and career aspirations.

Dr. Abdel Abdel-Rahman, nominated by Marie McGee and Badr Ibrahim from the Brody School of Medicine Department of Pharmacology, was named the 2009 Supervisor of the Year. McGee said, “He is not only an inspiration to me but a visionary, paving the way for a young investigator like myself to think beyond my current environment and touch millions of lives.” 

Abdel-Rahman received a plaque, a weekend stay at Baymont Inn and Suites of Greenville, and a $50 gift card to Dowdy Student Stores. 

Twenty-three supervisors were nominated for the award. Nominees were Dr. Abdel Abdel-Rahman, Dr. Laura Anderson, Joe Barricella, Jennifer Bonner, Adele Bowman, Elizabeth Coghill, Jim Thomas Crosier, Christy Daniels, Laurie Godwin, Thomas Huener, Brian Johnson, Christina Kennedy, Kelly Lancaster, Lynda McKeel, Dean Morris, Dena Olo, Janet Pierce, Mary Price, Jalil Roshandel, Nate Saunders, Amy Smith, Mackenzie Wysong and Dr. Guili Zhang.

Runner-ups were Dr. Laura Anderson and Janet Pierce. They received an engraved paperweight and a gift from a local sponsor.

# # #


Contact: Lindsey Bradsher