ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

Servire Society honors faculty, staff and students for service

GREENVILLE, NC   (Apr. 30, 2010)   —   Honoring the founding of East Carolina University and recognizing achievement and accomplishment on its campus were the themes for the Founders Day celebration and University Awards ceremony April 27.

“Today, in addition to celebrating our history, we are celebrating our present,” Provost Marilyn Sheerer said, as the university honored faculty, staff and students for their excellence in teaching, research, service and leadership.

During the event, this year’s members of the Servire Society, which began in 2008, were inducted. The university’s motto is Servire, which means to serve.

Members must perform a minimum of 100 hours public service during a year.

The faculty and staff 2010 Servire Society Inductees are as follows: Derek Abbott, Jennifer Abbott, Harry G. Adams, Robin Armstrong, David L. Batie, Tommy Brady, Keisha Brown, Marian Cascio, Cal Christian, Bill Clark, Susan B. Copeland, D. Reide Corbett, Leslie Craigle, F. Leonard Darby, Harley Dartt, Penney B. Doughtie, Michelle Eble, William C. Edwards, Elizabeth Fogarty, Margie Lee Gallagher, Charles William Gee, Kathryn Moore Griffin, Nancy Harris, Sandra W. Harvey, Erica Hughes, Kathryn M. Kolasa, Angela Lamson, Mandee Foushee Lancaster, Marylee Lannan, Charles J. Lesko Jr., Janice S. Lewis, Aaron Lucier, Susan McCammon, Shawn Moore, Vivian W. Mott, Jenna Nadler, Amanda Pantelidis, Roman Pawlak, Annette I. Peery, John H. Pierpont, Mary J. Pollock, Janis Puglisi, Nancy S. Ray, Diane Rodriguez-Luterbach, Paul Russell, Ronald H. Sessoms, Riddick Smiley, Kirk St. Amant, Chris Stallings, Michelle Taylor-Skipper, Donna T. Tedder, Linda M. Teel, Robert J. Thompson, Lynn Tuthill, John P. Walsh, Sandra H. Warren, Bryan Everette Wheeler, Tina Williams, William “Wes” Wilson, Tiffany Woodward and Beverly Wright.  

Students who were inducted to the Servire Society are as follows: Eric Anthony, Elizabeth Austin-Straughn, Vladim Bobrovnikov, Aisha Breeden, Ian Bryan, Alane Collinson, Chelsea Demarest, Samantha Dinner, Sayward Harrison, Amanda Hodges, Kari Kirian, Jonathan Landen, Salena Leavy, Paula Loftin, Maria McDonald, Charles West Overman, Devang Patel, Roger Peery, Sharda Persaud, Sunil Persaud, Amanda Pugh, Emily Sinning, Kyle Smithwick, Allen Thomas, William Thomas, Makayla Thrower and Emmanuel Wilder.