ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

ECU Faculty Members Honored for Teaching

(May 7, 1998)   —   Ten East Carolina University faculty members were recognized for their outstanding teaching at a campus ceremony on May 7.

Three faculty members received ECU Alumni Teaching Excellence Awards and six were named recipients of the University of North Carolina Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards. Each award carries a $1,000 prize; winners were selected by faculty committees.

In addition, Richard Marks, a professor of biochemistry who was honored last week as the ECU winner of the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, delivered a presentation on the use of computers to enhance teaching.

Winners of the alumni awards were Boni Boswell, associate professor of exercise and sport sceince; Frances Eason, professor of nursing; and Henry Doskey, associate professor of music. The alumni awards, the oldest campus-wide teaching honors at the university, are named for Robert L. "Roddy" Jones; Carl Blackwood, Wes Singleton and the J.C. Bradford Co.; and Robert and Lina Worthington Mays. In recognizing the winners, Lisa Benton, president of the Alumni Association, said, "The importance of high-quality teaching is a time-honored tradition at East Carolina University.

The individuals we are recognizing today are carrying forth that tradition in the exemplary manner we have come to regard as a hallmark of our existence." Recipients of the Board of Governors award were Donald Parkerson, associate professor of history; Michael Bassman, associate professor of foreign languages and literatures; Matthew Mahar, assistant professor exercise and sport science; Elizabeth Markowski, assistant professor of apparel, merchandising and interior design; Walter Pories, professor of surgery; and Frederick Niswander, assistant professor of accounting.


Contact: ECU News Bureau | 252-328-6481