ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

Students inducted into Gold Humanism Society

The inaugural inductees into the ECU chapters of the Gold Humanism Honor Society are, from left to right, Bradley Langston, John Yoon, Nicholas McLean, Kenneth Johnsen, Andres Afanador, Andrew Justice, Tabetha Simpson, Holly Stegall, Vontrelle Roundtree and Sarah James. Not pictured are Holly Bullock, Reema Padia and Amy Shipley. Photo by Cliff Hollis
GREENVILLE, N.C.   (Oct. 25, 2011)   —   Thirteen medical students at East Carolina University are the inaugural inductees in the school's new chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

The society recognizes fourth-year medical students who have excelled in clinical care, leadership, compassion and dedication to service.

The inductees are Andres David Afanador, Holly Noelle Bullock, Sarah Elizabeth James, Kenneth Johnsen, Andrew Thomas Justice, Bradley Langston, Nicholas McLean, Reema Kirit Padia, Vontrell Lynnette Roundtree, Amy Jordan Shipley, Tabetha Leigh Simpson, Holly Leigh Stegall and John Yoon.

An induction ceremony was Oct. 19 at Ironwood Country Club. Dr. Thomas G. Irons, associate vice chancellor for regional health services at ECU, was the keynote speaker.

The Gold Humanism Honor Society sponsors medical school chapter projects and events, research related to the society, physician development programs, lectures and conferences, and society communications. The goal of the society is to maintain a networked community that shares ideas, resources and support in order to sustain and advocate for humanism in medicine. The faculty advisor for the Brody chapter is Dr. Mary Ellen Wojtasiewicz, a registered nurse and teaching assistant professor in the Department of Bioethics and Interdisciplinary Studies at the Brody School of Medicine.

More information about the society is online at

For more news about East Carolina University, visit


Contact: Doug Boyd | 252-744-2482