ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

Medical students inducted into honor society

This year’s inductees into the ECU chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society are, front row from left to right, Ashley Mabina, Kelley Haven and Sam Belknap; second row, left to right, Hannah Fuhr and Shae Anderson; third row, left to right, Justin Black, Ashley Hink and Chris Street; top row, left to right, Jeff Sibrack and Michael Weeks. Not pictured are Brian Mclendon, Ben Carr and Cierrea Roach. Photo by Doug Boyd
GREENVILLE, N.C.   (Aug. 7, 2012)   —   Thirteen East Carolina University medical students have been inducted into the Brody School of Medicine's chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

The society recognizes fourth-year medical students who have excelled in clinical care, leadership, compassion and dedication to service.

The inductees are Shae Anderson, Ashley Hink, Sam Belknap, Ashley Mabina, Justin Black, Brian Mclendon, Ben Carr, Cierrea Roach, Hannah Fuhr, Jeff Sibrack, Kelley Haven, Chris Street and Mike Weeks. They were chosen by their peers and endorsed by a faculty panel.

An induction ceremony was Monday at Ironwood Country Club. Dr. Ronald Perkin, professor and chair of pediatrics at the Brody School of Medicine, was the keynote speaker.

The Gold Humanism Honor Society sponsors medical school chapter projects and events, research related to the society, physician development programs, lectures and conferences, and society communications. The goal of the society is to maintain a networked community that shares ideas, resources and support in order to sustain and advocate for humanism in medicine.

More information about the society is online at The Department of Bioethics and Interdisciplinary Studies at the Brody School of Medicine serves as the chapter sponsor.


Contact: Doug Boyd | 252-744-2482