ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

ECU faculty members honored for teaching

(May 4, 2000)   —   Nine East Carolina University faculty members were recognized for their outstanding teaching at a campus ceremony on May 3.

Three faculty members received Alumni Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards and six were named recipients of the University of North Carolina Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards. Each award carries a $1,000 prize; winners were selected by faculty committees.

In addition, Karl Wuensch, a professor of psychology who was honored last month as the ECU winner of the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, shared his views on encouraging students to be actively involved in their learning.

Winners of the alumni awards were Mary Burroughs, associate professor of music; Donna Hollar, lecturer in the construction management department; and Randy Parker, associate professor of economics. The alumni awards, the oldest campus-wide teaching honors at the university, are named for Robert L. "Roddy" Jones; Carl Blackwood, Wes Singleton and the J.C. Bradford Co.; and Robert and Lina Worthington Mays. Recipients of the Board of Governors award were Marjorie Baldwin, associate professor of economics; Michael Brown, assistant professor of psychology; Hanna Jubran, associate professor of art; Belinda Lee, assistant professor of nursing; John Sibert, assistant professor of chemistry; and C.W. Sullivan III, professor of English


Contact: ECU News Bureau | 252-328-6481