ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

NMA recognizes Cunningham

By Doug Boyd
ECU News Services

Dr. Paul Cunningham
GREENVILLE, N.C.   (Aug. 13, 2013)   —   Dr. Paul Cunningham, dean of the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University, has received an award from the National Medical Association.

Cunningham was one of seven deans of U.S. medical schools who received special Presidential Awards on July 30 during the NMA’s annual convention and scientific assembly in Toronto.

The deans were recognized for "their notable achievements and extraordinary commitment to academic excellence and medical education."

The other deans were Drs. Charles P. Mouton of Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tenn.; Mark S. Johnson of Howard University College of Medicine in Washington, D.C.; Valerie Montgomery Rice of Morehouse Medical School in Atlanta; Danny O. Jacobs of the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston, Texas; E. Albert Reece of the University of Maryland in Baltimore; and Daphne P. Calmes of the Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science in Los Angeles.

Founded in 1895, the NMA is the nation’s oldest and largest medical association representing the interests of more than 35,000 black physicians and their patients.


Contact: Doug Boyd | 252-744-2482