ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

Search committee completes work

(Jan. 30, 2001)   —   The Chancellor Search Committee at East Carolina completed its work on Jan. 30 and recommended four candidates for the new university leader to the Board of Trustees.

The board, in turn, is sending a report to University of North Carolina President Molly Corbett Broad, who will recommend a new chancellor for confirmation by the UNC Board of Governors.

The next Board of Governors meeting is scheduled for Feb. 9. That is the earliest date that the new chancellor could be announced.

Dr. Richard Eakin, chancellor of ECU since 1987, plans to retire this year upon the arrival of his successor.

Phillip R. Dixon, chair of the ECU board and of the search committee, said 17 candidates were interviewed by the panel. The four recommended by the committee included three sitting chancellors, presidents or deputy chancellors, he said.

The 17 interviewees included five presidents or chancellors, three deputy or associate chancellors, four provosts, one dean and three system administrators.

The committee held its 13th and final meeting today at a Raleigh hotel. The board met immediately afterward.

In addition to Dixon, members of the committee were Everette L. Daniel Jr., president of the ECU Foundation and executive vice president of Scott Insurance Co.; Janice H. Faulkner, past chair of the Board of Visitors and commissioner of the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles; Charles R. Franklin Jr., vice chair of the ECU Board of Trustees; Dr. Brenda L. Killingsworth, associate professor of decision sciences and immediate past chair of the faculty; Willie Lee Jr., chair of the ECU Staff Forum and director of University Printing and Graphics; Dr. Julius Q. Mallette, associate clinical professor of obstetrics and gynecology and assistant dean of students at the Brody School of Medicine; and Willie Martin, secretary of the ECU Board of Trustees.

Also, Dr. Robert C. Morrison, professor of chemistry and chair of the faculty; Diane Murphrey, president of the ECU Educational Foundation (Pirate Club) and vice president of finance for CopyPro; Gregory Brenton Queen, president of the ECU Student Government Association; H.E. "Gene" Rayfield Jr., immediate past chair of the ECU Board of Trustees; Shelby Strother, president of the Alumni Association and of Friends of the Joyner Library; Betty Speir, member of the Executive Committee of the ECU Board of Trustees; and Dr. Louise Toppin, professor of voice in the School of Music.

Dr. Phyllis Horns, dean of the School of Nursing served as secretary to the committee.


Contact: ECU News Bureau | 252-328-6481