ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

The Walker Cup at ECU

(May 7, 2001)   —   Teams from Canada, Japan, Mexico and the United States will compete at East Carolina University, May 29 — June 2, in the Walker Cup International Women’s Wheelchair Basketball Challenge.

This year’s tournament is the second in the series named in honor of Dr. L. T. Walker, the past-president of the United States Olympic Committee and a member of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame. Last year’s event, also held at ECU, was the first international wheelchair basketball tournament for women in the United States.

The event is presented by the Regional Rehabilitation Center of University Health Systems of Eastern Carolina and is hosted by the L.T. Walker International Human Performance Center and East Carolina University.

Canada is sponsoring two teams for the event. Japan, Mexico and the United States are fielding one team each.

Action begins on Tuesday, May 29, in Minges Coliseum where Japan and Mexico face each other in the lead off game at 10 a.m. The Canada White team plays the U.S. at 5:30 p.m. and the Canada Red team goes up against Mexico at 7:30 p.m.

The USA team was last year’s Walker Cup winner.

Competition continues throughout the day on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. The finals are scheduled for Saturday, June 2, starting at 6 p.m.

The competing teams will arrive in Greenville over the weekend of May 26 — 27. Team members will participate in training and workouts at the Student Recreation Center.

Opportunities are available for volunteers who are willing to assist with the tournament. Information about volunteers, community partnerships and school visits by team members is available from Dr. Diane Groff, a professor in recreational therapy and the director of operations for the tournament. Her number is 328-0025.


Contact: ECU News Bureau | 252-328-6481