ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

ECU faculty members honored for teaching

(May 7, 2001)   —   Faculty members from throughout East Carolina University were recognized for their outstanding teaching today (May 2) at a campus ceremony.

Three faculty members received Alumni Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards and six were named recipients of the University of North Carolina Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards. Each award carries a $1,000 prize; winners were selected by faculty committees.

In addition, Louise Toppin, professor of vocal studies in the School of Music who was honored in Chapel Hill last month as the ECU winner of the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, was recognized. Her award includes a bronze medallion and a $7,500 prize.

Winners of the alumni awards were Jeannie Golden, assistant professor of psychology; Heather Ries, associate professor of mathematics, and Toppin.

The alumni awards, the oldest campus-wide teaching honors at the university, are named for Robert L. "Roddy" Jones; Carl Blackwood, Wes Singleton and the J.C. Bradford Co.; and Robert and Lina Worthington Mays.

Recipients of the Board of Governors award were Kenneth Bass, associate professor of management; James C. Byrd, professor of medicine; Margie Gallagher, professor of nutrition and hospitality management; Edward Schumacher, associate professor of economics; Yu Yang, assistant professor of chemistry, and Ries.


Contact: ECU News Bureau | 252-328-6481