ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

Faculty receives teaching awards

(May 1, 2002)   —   Faculty members from East Carolina University were recognized for their outstanding teaching May 1 at a ceremony on campus.

Six faculty members received Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Awards, two received the University Award for Outstanding Teaching, and one received the Robert L. "Roddy" Jones Award for Outstanding Teaching.

Each award carried a $1,000 prize. Faculty committees selected the winners.

Winners of the Board of Governors awards were William Allen of Chemistry, Donald Barnes of Pharmacology, Patrick Bizzaro of English, Laurie Eakins of Decision Sciences, Kathy Kolasa of Family Medicine and Richard Ray of Physiology.

Dan Schisler of the Department of Accounting was the recipient of the Robert L. Jones Award.

University Award recipients were Cheryl Estes of Recreation and Leisure Studies and Betty Peel of Education Curriculum and Instruction.

Peel was also the recipient of the annual UNC Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching.


Contact: ECU News Bureau | 252-328-6481