ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

Governor appoints Horns, Johnson to N.C. IOM

GREENVILLE, N.C.   (Feb. 4, 2005)   —   Gov. Mike Easley has appointed two East Carolina University deans to the North Carolina Institute of Medicine.

Dr. Phyllis Horns, dean of the School of Nursing, and Dr. Cynda Johnson, dean of the Brody School of Medicine, will serve five-year terms with the institute.

Chartered by the North Carolina General Assembly in 1983, the N.C. IOM seeks solutions to statewide health care issues. The 100 members are selected from government, education, business, the health and legal professions, hospital and health insurance industries, private philanthropy and the public at large. The purpose of the organization is to assure that complex health issues are examined and disseminated to public sector officials with decision-making authority.

Horns has served as dean of the School of Nursing since 1990. She also served as interim vice chancellor for the Division of Health Sciences from 2001-2002. She is an active member of the National League for Nursing Board of Governors, North Carolina Council of Deans/Directors of Baccalaureate and Higher Degree Programs, American Nurses Association and Sigma Theta Tau Beta Nu Chapter.

She received her doctorate in nursing from the University of Alabama at Birmingham in 1980 and her master’s degree in public health from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1971.

Johnson joined ECU in 2003 as dean, coming from the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine where she was chair of the Department of Family Medicine.

A native of Kansas, Johnson earned her undergraduate degree from Stanford University in 1973 and her medical degree from the University of California at Los Angeles in 1977. She completed a family medicine residency at the University of Kansas School of Medicine as well as a faculty development fellowship. She also holds a master’s of business administration degree from the University of Missouri-Kansas City. She was listed in the 2002 “Best Doctors in America.”

On a national level, Johnson is vice president of the American Board of Medical Specialties and is a past president of the American Board of Family Practice. She also serves on the National Kidney Foundation Advisory Board.

N.C. IOM reports and publications can be found online at


Contact: Jeannine Manning Hutson | 252-744-2481