ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

ECU professors honored for outstanding teaching

(Apr. 26, 2005)   —   Ten East Carolina University faculty members were recognized for their outstanding teaching at a campus ceremony April 26.

Catherine Rigsby, chair of the faculty, said, “Teaching is the main reason we’re here. It’s not the only reason, but it is the most important. It is through teaching that we have the greatest impact on our students, our community and our nation.”

Dr. Frank James of the Department of Psychiatric Medicine in the Brody School of Medicine was the winner of the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, which carries a $7,500 cash prize.

Six faculty members received the Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award: Dr. Derek Alderman, Department of Geography, Harriot College of Arts and Sciences; Carol Christian, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, Harriot College of Arts and Sciences; Bob Green, Department of Family and Community Nursing, School of Nursing; Dr. Scott Sagraves, Department of Surgery, Brody School of Medicine; Catherine Walker-Bailey, School of Art and Design, College of Fine Arts and Communication; and Dr. Sarah Williams, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education. Each received a $1,000 prize.

Christian and Dr. Catherine Sotir, Department of Family Medicine, Brody School of Medicine, won the University Award for Outstanding Teaching, and Dr. Daniel Bara, School of Music, College of Fine Arts and Communication, won the Robert L. Jones Award for Outstanding Teaching. Those honors carry a $1,000 award.

The recipient of the Max Ray Joyner Award for faculty service through continuing education was Karen Vail-Smith, Department of Health Education and Promotion, College of Health and Human Performance. She received a $500 stipend and a $1,000 professional development fund.

Winners were nominated by their departments and chosen by committees of the Faculty Senate and the Board of Governors.


Contact: ECU News Bureau | 252-328-6481