ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

ECU recognizes outstanding teachers

(Feb. 7, 1995)   —   East Carolina University paid tribute to the work of eight North Carolina educators during an awards and lecture program in Wright Auditorium on Tuesday evening.
Named as recipients of the School of Education’s Outstanding Educator Awards were: Dr. Dudley Flood of Raleigh, the executive director of the N.C. Association of School Administrators; Dr. Linda M. Stroud, a Raleigh School Teacher; Elizabeth B. Ward, a Greenville principal; Ann Davis, a Greenville elementary school teacher;
Dr. Lewis S. Redd, the president of Craven Community College in New Bern; Dr. Genevieve H. Gay, a longtime educator in Jackson; Susan S. Herring, a middle school teacher in Elizabeth City; and Stephen Scroggs, a school principal in Kinston.
The educators were named at the annual James W. Batten Distinguished Educator Lecture and Awards ceremony, sponsored through the ECU School of Education. Dr. Batten, a retired education professor, established the awards and lecture program to recognize the work of educators who are ECU graduates, and to introduce students, faculty and professional teachers to visiting education scholars.
Dr. Martha McCarthy, an Indiana University professor and expert in school law, was the visiting lecturer at Tuesday’s ceremony. In her presentation, she discussed student rights, religion and other issues that challenge the public school curriculum.